We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch”
Review of De Viswijf

De Viswijf
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Jeffreys Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are situated on left hand side to Diaz Road cut se sac. The building is double story with the restaurant being on the first story. It has three parts to the restaurant. The fine dining inside section. This side will do you well when wanting to impress. The enclosed outside section is semi-fine dining, where you have a front and centre view of Jeffreys Bays breath taking ocean. Lastly we have the semi-undercover outside section. Where you can get that authentic ocean breeze air and soak up the sun or feel like you under the star while seeing the moon reflect over the water of the wild ocean.
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We had our Christmas lunch here and wow!! How amazing was the service and food!! Will definately be seeing them again.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank racbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Viswijf, Marketing at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wonderful to hear. We hope to welcome you again next year as we pride ourselves in serving delicious Christmas meals. We are very glad you enjoyed this special occasion with us.

The De Viswijf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

Stunning view, great service and amazing food. Seafood platter was great value for money, and the food was impeccable!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank jusettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Viswijf, Marketing at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are SO glad you enjoyed this wonderful view we are so privileged to experience every day.
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you again soon, to enjoy a delicious meal on our deck.

The De Viswijf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

Second time around and again we enjoyed the best service, fantastic view and the best seafood ever. The choice of wines are impressive. Well done!

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank 383trudiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Viswijf, Marketing at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh how we love our wonderful view. We are so glad you enjoyed it as much as we do.
We pride ourselves in providing a wide range of quality wines and to pair it with delicious food.
Much appreciated that you took the time to let us know your thoughts.
Hope to welcome you again soon.

The DeViswijf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Two of my pensioner friends and I had a super meal at your restaurant on Sunday.
Unfortunately the attitude of our waiter left us with a bad taste in our mouths.
Our meal came to R570 total. For convenience sake we added a R30 tip to make it easier to divide the bill and we each contributed R200.
His attitude was to walk away shaking his head and disppearing into the kitchen. As per normal, one's waiter normally sees you out (if possible) with a smile and a thank you. This gentleman needs some lessons in courtesy.
Other than that, it was a thoroughly pleasant experience.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spices127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Viswijf, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your compliments and concerns.
We take note thereof and agree that its not acceptable, we have taken this up with our staff.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

Beautiful ambiance, incredible food, friendly staff. Definitely visiting this place again. Has a balcony with a view of the ocean with fairy lights, its just a very romantic place.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank LarnieLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeViswijf, Marketing at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

We are VERY glad that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
The balcony view is so beautiful this time of the year!

The De Viswijf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Viswijf also viewed

 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to De Viswijf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.