We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating my friends 55th birthday”
Review of De Viswijf

De Viswijf
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Jeffreys Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are situated on left hand side to Diaz Road cut se sac. The building is double story with the restaurant being on the first story. It has three parts to the restaurant. The fine dining inside section. This side will do you well when wanting to impress. The enclosed outside section is semi-fine dining, where you have a front and centre view of Jeffreys Bays breath taking ocean. Lastly we have the semi-undercover outside section. Where you can get that authentic ocean breeze air and soak up the sun or feel like you under the star while seeing the moon reflect over the water of the wild ocean.
Reviewed 4 September 2018

You can not ask for better service they are absolutely brilliant.
I had to arrange everything form Johannesburg as we arrive the day before the birthday and they did everything for me
Personalized menu and even decorating the table with my own runners
when we walked in ..... i was so impressed as it looked beautiful and my friend was so surprised and did not expect the party and the other friends.
The food was absolutely marvelous and not even expensive
The service was brilliant
We felt like royalties and one of those birthdays and evenings you will never forget
Thanks to all the staff this is one hell of a memory we will always stay with us
Will definitely see you a lots during our December visit

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leavw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VISWIJF, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you so much! Looking forward hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

On my way back from a trip to Malawi my wife tells me about a platter for two at De Viswijf. Somewhat skeptical I joined then and what an amazing surprise. It was the best platter for two I have ever eaten. We order one for us and one for the kids (in case it was small) and there was more than enough to go around. From rib-lets, chicken strips, chips and onion rings to calamari, squid heads, fish, prawns and rice. Well done on a fantastic dish. We had the special on Friday night which included a round of cold drinks or wine.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajJbay1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VISWIJF, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Always a treat going to Viswijf. They also offer wine tastings which is absolutely fantastic! Service always friendly and presentation of food great!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank sanetrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VISWIJF, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Having travelled extensively around the world, it’s hard to find a Restaurant with a perfect mix of Great Food, Great Location, Great Winelist, Great Service ad a Great Price. The De Viswijf manage to do all of that and much more!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _arlongraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you so much! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Doesn't matter if you looking for a spot to have lunch or dinner, you will be happy and satisfied, if De Viswijf was your stop.

An excellent and well priced wine menu just ads value to this experience.

The owners never stop exploring the wonderful world of food and wine.

Always having something new, something interesting up their sleeves.

Very popular wine tasting being held here as well.

Keep an eye on their Facebook Page for regular updates and special offers.

I'm really excited to see the inside of the restaurant, once their renovations is done.

Exciting times

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 878jacquesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Owner at De Viswijf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you so much! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Viswijf also viewed

 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to De Viswijf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing