We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/01
Hotels.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/01
Agoda.com
US$133
US$105
View deal
SAVE US$28
Booking.comUS$133
eDreamsUS$133
PricelineUS$121
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
164
13
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
13
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail hosts views surfers waves accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Was a gorgeous ocean view and lovely facility. Caitlin was a welcoming host and gave a great recommendation for dinner. Hope to go back and spend more time in this quaint little town
If laying by the ocean or surfing is your thing this is the place

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 149bruceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Boutique Hotel on Supertubes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback :) We appreciate it so much.
Kind regards, Shaloha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Positives:

- Location: In front of supertubes with direct access to the beach.
- Room: very confortable, spacios bathroom and great view.
- Brackfast: very good
- Staff: Very frindly, especcialy Cyntia and Zandra

Negatives:

- Weak wifi, but who needs wifi when we can watch the best surfers in the world surfing the best waves in the world?
- Water heating: Not enought for the 3 of us

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pat303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Boutique Hotel on Supertubes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback :)
We appreciate it so much. Kind regards, Shaloha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

Stayed at the Shaloha in March this year during loadshedding, which in itself was not a problem or the hotel's fault. But at the same time all the hotel guests discovered early in the evening that there was no running water, there is no permanent on site staff but we had a number to call (presumably the owner) who came by but wasn't able to do much except reassure us it would be back soon and go on his way (we later discovered that there had been some water repairs in the area which had caused the initial outage). We spent the night without water (no flushing toilets) and no power. The water had not returned in the morning and we raised this with the two ladies who come in for breakfast who took the attitude of doing nothing about it (again fine if they had more information).

But during a stroll on the beach we got talking to guests from the neighbouring hotel who said their water had come back the evening before and that the outage was only brief. So we go back to hotel and had to ask for the employees to call the local water works to investigate. Turns out the water works had forgotten to reconnect this property back to the water supply but since no body at the hotel complained they obviously didn't know. Verdict - badly managed.

Rooms are okay, the location and views are incredible and breakfast was really good - had there not been the water issue this place would have got four stars. The staff were otherwise friendly albeit very slow at check in.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Boutique Hotel on Supertubes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We always find it valuable to receive reviews from our guests.

We are terribly sorry for the issue experienced during your stay, though it was extremely unusual and unfortunate events that occurred we always try to see where we can improve to maintain our high standards.

We now have a much larger water reserve as well as immediate power back up which will prevent any similar instances from happening again.

Our staff tried to maintain a relaxed environment among the stresses of the day and where of huge help from the late evening phone calls to the municipal emergency lines and alerting again early the next morning as instructed by the municipality until the problem was resolved.

It is our ethos to make each and every guest stay wonderful and most importantly comfortable. We would love to accommodate you again showcasing our great hospitality that so many other guests have experienced, and return to again and again.

All my best, Zandra @ Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

We only spent one night here but really liked it. It’s a two storey beach house just a few paces over some dunes to the amazing beaches of Jeffrey’s Bay, with direct views out to sea where there are surfers and dolphins to watch. Our room was simple but spacious and had a verandah overlooking the lovely view. The bathroom had a good shower but no bath. The public areas on both floors are also spacious and nicely furnished and open out onto a verandah and balcony looking out to sea. There’s a braai fire on the public verandah which was lit for us when we arrived and was cosy to sit around listening to the waves. Breakfast was served on the verandah and was very good. There’s a place called Nina’s for dinner only 5 minutes walk away with great food and a really friendly local vibe. Compared to most of our stays, value was very good.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ItinerantMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandra M, General Manager at Shaloha Boutique Hotel on Supertubes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you for your positive review and mentioning how spacious the guesthouse is and the great value among many other wonderful comments. We appreciate it so much. Kind regards, Shaloha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2019

Beyond expectations ! Thank you to Cynthia, Caitlin and all the Staff for making us feel so welcome throughout our stay. The location of Shaloha being directly on the beach, gave us all fantastic views of the sea and passing Dolphins. We, along with our friends Jenny and Peter, had the two penthouse suites. Comfortably furnished inside the bedroom, and table, chairs and sun beds on our balcony. The evening log fire on the decking along with toasted marshmallows made a great end to the day. Thank you.Wendy and Chris

Room tip: Sea view rooms were superb
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandra M, Manager at Shaloha Boutique Hotel on Supertubes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Hi Wendy & Chris, thank you very much for your review. It is so appreciated by the whole team. We are pleased you enjoyed our fires! True South African style every evening :D and got to meet the real locals (dolphins). You where all wonderful and we hope to see you again. Warm regards Shaloha Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews