We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$85
Hotels.comUS$85
Booking.comUS$85
eDreamsUS$85
Agoda.comUS$85
CheapTicketsUS$85
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
157
48
12
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
157
48
12
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house budget room wonderful country the owner manager beautiful pool kitchen window beautiful property an upgrade attention to detail great breakfast thoroughly enjoyed our stay air con secure parking stayed for one night yogurt warm welcome garden route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2020

What a stunningly beautiful guesthouse Stone Olive is! The attention to detail is first class and Janine is a wonderful host. Delicious breakfast is served. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (wish it had been longer) and most certainly will be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine van Breda, Owner at Stone Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it, it was a pleasure having you here
Regards
Janine and Roelof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

We were surprised by the quality of this guesthouse. Rooms are big and nicely decorated, full of amenities, nice view from second floor, beautiful small garden, location excellent and breakfast very good. The hosts did their best to make our stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TsemachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneolive, Owner at Stone Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Good day
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it, it was a pleasure having you here
Regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Stayed for one night on the way to PE, booked the budget room and yes it is very small, just about room for one suitcase, shower was cold and very hard to use as it kept cutting out ok for one night would book a bigger room if staying longer overall OK

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank MCBtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stone Olive. Hosts very attentive and helpful with local knowledge and restaurants. Recommend the pony trek on the beach and dunes. Stunning scenery. Good meals at Nina’s and Kitchen Window.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandywatts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneolive, Owner at Stone Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

good day
thanks so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it, it was a pleasure having you here
regards
janine and roelof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

From outside guesthouse looked nice, secure parking place, small swimming pool. Checking-in by daughter of the house, speaking quickly like a machine and with heavy Africaans slang (our English is university level), despite interrupting her no change so we just don’t listen any more. What she worked is a miracle to us, seeing her hanging around all day.
Room No 6, we guess others are better! This small one without air con and only a small and loud fan had the following advantages:
- Barking dogs all night to the neighbours or golf place
- Starting kitchen noise below us at 6 a.m. – kitchen staff was wonderful and friendly and professional, no complaintes about them
- Two owner woman talking loudly at the pool at 7.30 a.m., thank you for weaking us up, but we are in holidays
- If you want to restrict noise close all windows, it will become a bit sticky or loud with the small cheap fan.
Breakfast done by the black, utmost friendly and helpful staff, was a bit paltry besides you order a good omlett, but having omletts for more than 3 weeks everywhere is also little annoying, means we could not stand it any more, but this has directly nothing to do with this guesthouse.
Positive comment: they booked Restaurant tables for us, of course with comission!
At checkout the two owner woman and daughter were suddenly not tob e seen any more, a craftsman was saying good-bye.

Room tip: Do not accept room No 5, it's loud from all sides
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trutpert2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneolive, Owner at Stone Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Good day
Thanks for your feedback....I will look into the matter for future check ins......
You stayed here for 3 days in room 5 (not 6) which was booked by your travel agent.....
I would have appreciate it that if you had a problem from day 1 to at least come and have a chat with me and I could have tried better some of your issues
- The girl who checked you in is my daughter and was only helping out since I was in a meeting that time....she does not work here and was on holiday that is why she was hanging around here ....its unnecessary for you to assume its a miracle for her "working" here.... but I will still look into the check in method for future guests....my apologies
- As i can understand, one of my workers did assist you with more detail on your request at check in
- We do receive guests from all over the world and all do speak different English....all of them also not on university level....so all of us here and the other guests do our best and take each other in consideration....
- Unfortunately no one has control of barking dogs in the street or at neighbours houses....
- In regards to the kitchen noise ....my staff starts at 6h30 and yes we were busy that time of the morning to start preparing for breakfast starting at 7h30.....occasionally we do receive a request for an earlier breakfast by 7h00 for those guests who needs to travel further or catch an early flight....we provide a service and try to accommodate all where necessary....by 7h30 most of the guests starts waking up and yes some of them talks outside on their way to the breakfast room and even go for a swim that time of the morning
- Breakfast itself do consist of 3 x cereals, muesli, various yogurts, fresh fruit salad, 3 x fruit juices and water, coffee and tea, flapjacks (pancakes), muffins, cheese, jams, toast and a menu with 3 different hot meals to choose from....not only omelettes....there were more than 1 thing to choose from
- We suggest restaurants on guests requests and if they want to on their request we book a table for them....free of charge with no commission....another friendly service from our side
From my side .....thank you for staying with us
Regards
Roelof and Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews