We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local spot”

First Light Coffee Bar
Price range: US$20 - US$80
Description: At First light we are passionate about the human and the coffee bean and enjoy seeing the potential released in both.
Restaurant details
Description: At First light we are passionate about the human and the coffee bean and enjoy seeing the potential released in both.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Great coffee. They roast their own. We get our coffee beans there for our own coffee. Nicest people. Unpretentious but they know what they’re doing.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank AnneH4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018

Big open space. Cozy environment. Diverse coffee menu. They've only been operating for about one year. I had their grilled cheese with salami on a ciabatta roll (20R) and an iced chai latte (25R) for lunch. Keep in mind that this location is primarily a coffee shop so the food menu is very limiting. No Wifi. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for a meeting space or a quiet place to read.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chieka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The coffee is first class ,conversation friendly... my Morning fix
A go to for a great grilled cheese toasty
Wonderful ambiance and decor

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank DebbieB3376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We wouldn't have entered this coffee house if it wasn't for my girlfriend's sudden need to pee. It's a little hidden, but then very open when you enter. It's like entering someone's living room, where you are invited to join them at the big table, or have some privacy at one of the small tables. We chose the latter, but then got involved in a chat with lovely Maxine, and soon we were standing in the back room where she explained to us everything about their own roasting machine, the beans they use, the difficulty to buy fair-trade coffee, the different flavors they are able to bring forward, and all of that with a lot of passion and happiness in her eyes. We left after about an hour, each with two very good coffees in our stomach, two packages of freshly roasted beans for our flight back home zo Switzerland (thanks for the specially sealed bag!), and a smile on our face. Keep doing what you love, it's making people happy.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank 418lukasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The first light is a very nice coffe-shop in Jeffrey's bay.The Coffee-Shop has his onw roasting-machine and the people ar very kind. They can tell you a lot about the diffrent kinds of coffee, about roasting and about the flavors of coffee. These people have a real passion for Coffee and they really live for what they do.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Raheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Light Coffee Bar also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to First Light Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing