We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
54
24
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
24
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool residential area the owner guest house a lovely stay stay there again one night enjoyed our stay great view garden route j bay anita guesthouse accommodation views taxis rates
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Why stay somewhere else if you can stay here with an indoor pool lovely rooms great hospitality great quiet surroundings great to cool off and settle after a day out and about. Well situated. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMeijberg, Owner at Dolphin View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back sometime and maybe you can try one of the other rooms as well. Each room has its own character and are all unique. Regards Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Travel about a km uphill from the main drag (da gama rd) into the pretty wavecrest suburb. Check out the views!
And Dolphin has one of the best.
The laid back luxury of the place is quite unusual. Lovely plant fringed pool; spacious, well appointed rooms and cheerful, knowledgeable hosts - we had a great 3 days there.
Many thanks to Anita and to Leigh.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank _clivio54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinViewGH, Manager at Dolphin View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you will visit us soon again. It was such a pleasure accommodating you. Best regards. Lee Posthumus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

I reported a broken bed to hotels dot com day one of our trip. Nothing was done about the bed. I received a disgusting letter from the handling agent accusing me of dishonesty? Not to impressed at all.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kevern2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreysbay, General Manager at Dolphin View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Good day Kevern. My sincere apologies that you had a bad experience, but you did not stay at Dolphin View Guesthouse. You made a booking through Expedia for a self-catering house at Marina Martinique and you only came to fetch the keys at Dolphin View. You have already posted a review on Expedia, justly so, about the supposed broken bed. Like I replied on your Expedia review, I went to inspect the bed myself and found nothing broken, cracked or fractured. The middle supports of the bed had just shifted during cleaning and just needed to be shifted back into place. You reported this on checking out? You could have called us directly to sort out the problem with the bed, it would've been resolved in 2 minutes. We did not accuse you of anything. You could've used the second bedroom to sleep in for time being, but you had 2 extra persons staying there who were not booked. You booked for 2 persons yet there were 4 persons staying over. I was, and am, the handling agent and I am not in the habit of sending disgusting letters. I am truly sorry you perceived it this way. All the best. Kindest regards. Lee Posthumus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The house is in an excellent location on the Marina Martinique with lots of space and open water.
We experienced it's beautiful surroundings and clean environment and immediately fell in love with it.
On top of that, it is a peaceful and quiet place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hfouri434124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreysbay, Manager at Dolphin View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review, Hans. It was lovely meeting you. I have no doubt we will see you soon again. It is always such a pleasure hearing that your guests had a great time. Keep well. Kindest regards. Lee Posthumus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

This was just a one night stop over on our eastward trip along the Garden Route and we chose this guest house based on the reviews.
It is hard to convey what a gem this place and Anita, the owner, are.
The rooms are all, individually decorated and placed around an indoor pool.
Quirky and eclectic are the best words to discibe the overall effect but that just makes it all the more memorable.
I cannot imagine staying anywhere else if staying in J'Bay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WhistlingBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Owner at Dolphin View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It is always great getting feedback from our guests. Please come visit us again. It was such a pleasure having you as our guests. We look forward to the next visit. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews