We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
R 10 700
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
515
82
25
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
515
82
25
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite game drives private concession black rhino main park south africa his knowledge rooms are spacious his passion special experience cape buffalo wonderful experience water hole amazing place arlington moses guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2024

We had decided last-minute dot com, to head to Addo. The park's accommodation was full and so we started searching elsewhere, but in the park. We found and booked River Bend Lodge and had the most amazing time. The attention to detail, the friendliness, the willingness to please...was all above expectations! Our daughters saw a magnificent lion on their morning game drive, which was a highlight, and came back bursting with excitement and information. Special mention must be made of the food and restaurant service...both were exceptional! Compliments to the chef!

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaleK562
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DaleK562,

Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your last minute.com brought about a stay with us at RiverBend Lodge.

I will pass on your wonderful comments to the Team, again Thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

Had a lovely stay over Christmas even though the weather wasn't as hot as expected! This was our 4th visit but the 1st over Christmas and we have already booked the same rooms for Christmas 2024!
It was so nice to return and be greeted like friends and family. Debbie and all the staff work so hard to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, they get really disappointed when you don't have lunch as you ate too many snacks on the morning Game Drive and then had a massive breakfast!
The guides are excellent, we had Ryan this time, ask what you're interested in and what you'd like to see on your drives. We managed to find Jess! Recommend staying All Inclusive as this includes 2 Game Drives a day at times to suit you. The scenery in this section of Addo Elephant NP is stunning, so different to the main sections of the park. Only River Bend vehicles allowed so you feel as though you are the only ones there!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank susieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Susie Bimingham,

We just loved having you back with us, your appreciation for nature in its balanced environment is such a pleasure to behold, as is your appreciation for the efforts made by the Team.

We look forward to Welcoming you back into your Home from Home, and until then all the very best for 2024 travel safe and see you soon.

Sincerely,

Debbie and the RiverBend Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

We have just moved on from a four night stay at River Bend Lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff and extremely well run by Debbie who puts her hand to everything.
The property is like an English Country House Hotel in a private game reserve. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and very well furnished. Breakfast is nice although I would have liked to have seen a few more cold options on the buffet. Lunch and dinner are both very good with friendly service and the inclusive wine list was excellent.
Game viewing is perhaps not the best you can experience but the star of the show for us was our Ranger Leo Herbst who was exceptional and possibly the best we have had in many years of safari. Highly informative with a lovely way and his interest in birds was a great benefit for us. He deserves to have a great career
This is very much a luxury Lodge and we spent New Year there. Certainly one to return to sometime.

Room tip: All rooms are comfortable. The lodge is 7km off the main road and the approach is bumpy so an SUV is a good option.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear mfranks911,

Thank you for your absolutely awesome review, and for choosing RiverBend for your holiday.

We are so delighted that you loved RiverBend as much as we do, and that your holiday was one that you enjoyed.

The wildlife were definitely playing 'Hide n Seek' with us over a good portion of the holiday, especially over the rainy colder days.

Do take care and all the very, very best for 2024.

Sincerely

Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge Tram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

This place is truly wonderful! We were here with our 2 year old son and they COULD NOT have been more accommodating. The rooms are gorgeous, the communal bar and dining areas are lovely and the pool is heavenly (it was very hot when we where there). Moses and Ntumbi where amazing! They made our stay so magical! Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our son's food outside of the normal hours and were just brilliant.
The food is excellent! Eating an incredible breakfast whist wanting a massive herd of elephants playing in the watering hole for a good hour is something we shall never forget.
The safari was amazing - our guide Paul was perfect and so warm and friendly with our son, keeping him involved, letting him taste fruits and leaves and teaching him about tracking the footprints and just made it a wonderful experience for us all. A month after we left he still talks about 'Paul's truck' and all the animals we saw! THANK YOU.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nao186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Nao186338,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to write it, this means everything to us as this is how we keep a finger on the pulse of RiverBend, our GUESTS.

I will pass on your wonderful compliments to the RiverBend Lodge Team

Wishing you all a safe, happy and healthy 2024.

Sincerely

Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2023

River Bend Lodge is a fantastic premium experience. The game accommodations and food were fantastic, the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. I can't speak highly enough of the whole experience from the welcome to the goodbye. The guides know the park and are able to deliver on the wide variety of flora and fauna to be found there. The kitchen staff are very accommodating and were able to cater for all our needs. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank calgcpl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Dear Calgcpl1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us, and what a super review again Thank You.

The fact that you have grown to love RiverBend like we do means the world to us, and we cannot wait to see you again.

Do take care until then and may we in advance take this opportunity to wish you, and your loved ones not only a family filled Christmas with loads of Love and hugs and laughter, but may your New Year of 2024 be an excellent one for you all.

See you soon!

Sincerely

Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews