We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$91
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$91
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/13
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$93
US$81
View Deal
SAVE US$12
PricelineUS$91
Expedia.comUS$91
HurbUS$93
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 087)
Filter reviews
1 087 results
Traveller rating
319
312
227
140
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
319
312
227
140
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree cookies very nice hotel fitness center nj event starbucks highway nyc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1 087 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2020

Placed well away from Newark and NYC, this hotel is a great place to get away when traveling to the tri state area. Its a large, business class hotel with tons of rooms, a restaurant, and easy access to the local highway. Before Covid the hotel had numerous conventions and events but upon my stay it was very empty. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was clean and disinfected. Call ahead if the pool or other facilities are of interest. Also be sure to check with NJ travel advisory if your state is restricted.

The hotel is easily reached by car and free parking is available on site. If one is traveling around Central and Northern NJ as well as NYC, its a fairly distance location but still easily drive able. The restaurant is fairly decent and offers typical casual dining fare. They also have onsite cloth washing facilities if needed.

For my stay the room was great with a mini fridge. Wifi access was fairly good and the room was easily reached from the elevator. Since this is a fairly large hotel, one's room location may vary. The bed was comfortable and clean.

For the casual business traveler with a car, its a great location to stay out in a suburban area not surrounded by countless strip malls. A small historic town is nearby with restaurants and shops.

Room tip: Ask for upgrades and call ahead for amenities like the pool
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oceanguy2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

Recently I had an excellent and refreshingly ‘reassured “stay” that was extended due to a pleasant surprise for a standard king to a free upgrade to my preferential junior king suite accommodation from my actual pre pandemic booking history. This, coupled by the hotels reinstating of the lobby atrium Starbucks counter with an albeit ‘limited staff & amenities’ far exceeded my expectations for a brief 2-3 day amended reservation. As a long term patron of the hotel and a Hilton Diamond status repeat VIP guest, I always appreciate every small detail accommodation as a recollection by the staff that exemplifies a standard of excellence in hospitality for the Doubletree hotel; from extra towels, toiletries, to the refrigerator/microwave and my consistent request for DND of services both “pre and post” COVID19 pandemic conditions.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank acelestem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020

I visited the hotel with a couple other families for a last summer fun weekend before school.
I was going to write a pros and cons but really it was all pros.
The room was clean, staff was friendly, pool was clean and organized according to covid rules. My kids swam, played tennis and basketball. Grounds and hotel were spacious enough to keep everyone covid comfortable and mask wearing was enforced in the building.
The hotel is pretty, updated and well cared for.
As a Hilton gold member, I was given a free available upgrade as well as money to spend at Starbucks. My whole family( teenagers included) was happy.
The manager Sharif made my group very comfortable and found us a safe nice place to be together.

My only recommendation would be for a hallway garbage pickup a couple times a day ( perhaps late-night)during the weekend.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rc2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Attended a meeting at the Double Tree by Hilton Somerset Hotel. Stayed two nights and had one full day meeting plus a reception. The location is quiet and good for meeting. Catering at reception, breakfast and tea were great. Popcorn was even offered which was a nice surprise. Room was clean, well kept and spacious. Definitely a good experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 243lancef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Good Business Stay. Good enough Staff , but some some seem to kick it up. Decent rooms. Decent breakfast. Same menu as forever though, needs to change it up. Bed comfortable , but room upgrade didnt seem to be applied.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews