We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$135
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 659)
Filter reviews
1 659 results
Traveller rating
505
624
320
135
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
624
320
135
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenn stationnew yorkcovered walkwaygateway centerpath traininto nycconcierge floorstreet noisethe world trade centerconvenient locationeasy access to nycthe executive loungeparking garagefront desk staffbusiness centerhotel restaurantairport shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 659 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The room was very comfortable with standard amenities. Staff was friendly. I was on a very high floor, 11 if i remember correctly, and the road noise was still pretty bad. The server in the restaurant downstairs was kind of a bummer but everyone else was great.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuperZeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed a week here while working closely at the NJPAC. The staff is effective and helpful at the front desk, housekeeping, etc. The rooms, however, are shabby. Wallpaper peeling at the edges, carpet worn to the point of seeming dirty. There are holes cut in the ceiling poorly patched.

I also have to comment on the breakfast that was included in my package. The location is in the lobby pub, which is ok. There is a couple of experienced age that runs breakfast. I don’t know if they are incapable or simply don’t care, but the experience is not good. Twice I found the toaster not working...they simply put it out and didn’t bother to plug it in. I did it for them, as I felt they wouldn’t enjoy being bothered for that detail. Food is so-so and beverage service is slow and inaccurate.

Overall, I would not choose to stay at this particular Hilton property.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank sparrish92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The hotel was basically what it is, a city hotel with no frills. Excellent location across the road from Penn Station, which makes it great for travel into NY or down the coast. Easilly accessible from Newark airport.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowsleymarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I stayed twice at the Hilton Newark Penn Station in January 2018, after a hiatus of five years. The easy access (and generally lower price) makes the hotel a sensible alternative to New York city hotels, with PATH, NJ Transit, and Amtrak literally at the door.
There were several changes on this visit. The Executive lounge remains open, but without food or drinks. It's a good place now for meditation or for informal meetings, for those with executive privileges. This shift is fine, because the restaurant has a basic and sensibly priced menu with attentive staff. The restaurant is also the place for breakfast, and the fitness center, just off the main lobby, is excellent. The big change is the addition of a shuttle bus to Newark Liberty Airport. In our experience on both visit, the shuttle pretty much ran when we were ready. (Evidently it runs at 20-minute intervals.) On the first of our stays, we checked out in the morning, left our luggage at the hotel, went into NYC, and returned to get the shuttle to the airport.
The rooms were as I recalled from earlier. For our first visit, the desk and television were placed to make the desk hard to use for work, and the Internet connection was execrably slow. (The manager said that the hotel was actively upgrading its internet connection.) The second room lacked the problems of the first.
In all this is a hotel that I'll keep in mind for when I have business in New York City or in Newark. The staff are friendly, the rooms are quiet in spite of its proximity to the train station, and transportation to get to other places couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Speak with the check-in desk about the features of the room that you want.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boujadi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stayed at the hotel for a business meeting. The location is excellent for convenience to the train station. The hotel is clean, but in dire need of a renovation. The staff is very friendly and helpful, however everything takes a long time: the airport shuttle, service in the restaurant, banquet service during the meeting. There is no sense of urgency from anyone. They may be understaffed? The ballroom is oddly shaped and has several columns making it hard for all the meeting attendees to see the presenter or screen. I would not come back to this hotel for a meeting.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and regret that you were not pleased with your experience. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve. We hope you will give us a second chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews