We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
97
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog park rooftop deck free happy hour local craft beers modern design incredible stay dog lovers brought our dog across the street close walk fantastic hotel every morning king suite washington inn loved our stay thought of everything walking distance to everything
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2021

Firs time staying here but we're Cape May regulars. We loved the modern design, CLEAN rooms, rooftop deck. The bed was comfy, the shower was nice. The toilet has the most powerful flush I've ever seen! The place is dog friendly and although we have dogs, we don't travel with them. There were a few guests with pups but they were quiet, never a bother. The parking lot is a little small but our Honda Civic fit just fine. If you drive a truck or large SUV, it may be a slight issue but there's street parking if needed. Our one minor gripe is the lack of supportive pillows. The bed is equipped with at least 6 mushy pillows which offer no support whatsoever. We actual brought this to management and they agreed so it may change. Overall, an awesome place and stay and would recommend to anyone. It's not on the beach but CM is a small town so everything is close. The price is a little high but we're not into Victorian B&Bs and we love boutique hotels so it was a no brainer. The price does include beach tags for your entire stay along with towels, chairs and beach umbrella so that was nice too. Bottom line as always, we would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Metlhed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Sendell, Guest Services / Front Office at Boarding House Cape May, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Hi there, Metlhed27!

We're so grateful that you chose to stay with us at the Boarding House and that you had a great visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review.

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including your room, the bathroom amenities, the rooftop, and beach club access. We appreciate your feedback about the pillows! Thank you for sharing this with our team during you visit and for bringing it to our attention here, as well.

Thank you so much again for choosing the Boarding House and for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

The Boarding House Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021

If you are thinking about whether you should stay at the Boarding House, go ahead and book your reservation! It is a great property with amenities way above and beyond what we'd expected. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room, along with a coffee maker and the room is spacious and refreshing. More importantly, the team is simply incredible. We were welcomed by Janine and she could not have been more amazing! So friendly, warm, and helpful. It was our anniversary and she made us feel so special! The team's helpful attitude extended throughout our stay and we cannot wait to go back! The rooftop is such a special treat to have along with the happy hour. And of course, the fact Boarding House guests can use the Beach Club at Montreal is just the cherry on top of it all!

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank ElifNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Sendell, Guest Services / Front Office at Boarding House Cape May, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Hi Elif!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your anniversary and that we had the opportunity to help you celebrate. And thank you for sharing your kind words about Janine! She is absolutely wonderful, and we will make sure to share your feedback with our management team.

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our room amenities, the rooftop deck, and the access to the Montreal Beach Club. It is our top priority to ensure that our guests feel like members of our own family, and we're so grateful that you felt welcomed and comfortable during your stay!

Thank you so much again for this kind review, Elif. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

The Boarding House Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021 via mobile

Loved this small hotel. We are a family of 4 and most BnBs in the area don’t have rooms with two queen beds so other choices were pricy. Loved the look of this hotel, and turned out to be just what it looks like in the pictures. Walking distance to everything. Also, a lot of the guests had dogs. We don’t mind this sort of thing but some people might love it or hate it.

Pros: Tastefully decorated and modern, staff is friendly, not too far from the Washington Mall or the beach (~10 min walk), Parking available for free, happy hour from 4pm-5pm featuring local beer and wine for free, can get 2 chairs/loungers and an umbrella from the Montreal beach club at the beach free of charge, beach tags provided free of charge including day of check-in and check-out, also get 10% off for breakfast at the restaurant at the Montreal beach club, affordable compared to other options especially if you are looking for two queen beds.

Cons: rooms are small though you really have everything you need, parking spaces are on the small side, no gym, no room service, staff on site from 9am - 5pm, in front of a relatively busy road.

Room tip: Parking spaces are on the small side. Main beach has pretty size-able waves when we went. Supermarket right down the block.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NYC_trav_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Sendell, Guest Services / Front Office at Boarding House Cape May, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Hi there, NYC_trav_Dad!

Thank you so much for this thoughtful review! We are so grateful that you chose the Boarding House for your Cape May vacation with your family. We're very happy that you enjoyed the aesthetic and the location of our hotel, especially our proximity to the beach and Washington Street Mall! We're also stoked to hear that you got to enjoy the Montreal Beach Club and Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille during your visit. Local beer and wine hour is one of our favorite amenities, as well. :)

Thank you very much again for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you all again soon!

Best wishes,

The Boarding House Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We absolutely love the Boarding House!! It was our second time staying (our first time was so nice too!) and it was my boyfriends birthday and Janine at the front desk helped me arrange for cupcakes and champagne to be in our room upon checking in!! It was perfect and we can’t wait to come back and stay again!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahbacharach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Sendell, Guest Services / Front Office at Boarding House Cape May, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Hi Sarah!

Thanks so much for choosing the Boarding House during your Cape May vacations! We're so grateful that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your boyfriend's birthday and that we could help make his celebration even more special. We will definitely share your kind words with Janine, as well (she's the best!).

Thanks again for sharing this review, Sarah! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

The Boarding House Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2021

The Boarding House is a fantastic hotel! It’s very clean and has a great staff. We have stayed here a few times and are looking forward to another stay. The daily happy hour is a nice bonus to the stay. I love how close it is to many of the shops and restaurants, and the walk to the beach is very scenic. My family and I highly recommend The Boarding House.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Y6428RHkyleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Sendell, Guest Services / Front Office at Boarding House Cape May, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Hi Kyle!

We are so honored to be a part of your Cape May memories! It is a pleasure to have you and your family as guests. We're happy to hear that you enjoy our daily happy hour (this is one of our favorite things, too!), as well as our location and proximity to the beach and the center of town.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next stay.

Best wishes,

The Boarding House Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews