We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
330
262
134
74
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
330
262
134
74
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south building indoor pool hiking trails full kitchen living room ping pong video games hot tub hilltop restaurant murphy bed roman spa nice resort washer dryer recommend this resort lakes region game room family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

Beautiful resort. Indoor water/pool area is awesome, huge hot tub!
Very clean grounds, rooms are spacious with lovely amenities.
Fun sledding hill. Located close to Meredith and Laconia.
Abundance of options to visit.
Highly recommend! Can’t wait to visit again. Year round great resort!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jotsakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Robillard, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're thrilled that your stay with us at Steele Hill was so enjoyable! It is great to hear you were able to enjoy a lot of our onsite amenities as well as take comfort in your accommodations. It sounds like you were able to venture offsite and appreciate the nearby offerings of our local towns as well.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us at Steele Hill!

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Been visiting SHR since I was 22 and not much has changed in 35 years since, unfortunately there is a lot of changes that need to be made. the access to the pool is the first thing, unless you love climbing stairs than this is not the place for you, it's time to put a level access corridor to the pool from the rooms.
Second, start maintaining the building a little better, way over due painting and window issues, window in unit 36 Main floor you couldn't even see out of, appears the wood in areas are rotting around the windows due to UV exposure, paint is peeling on exterior surfaces causing the rot.
The furniture in the Main unit in 36 was unbelievably uncomfortable! Couches were horrendously uncomfortable, the Chair with the Ottoman was designed for staging at best, Kitchen table rocked back and forth and was very cheap, I fixed the dishwasher as the upper water spinner was sitting under the kitchen cabinet, the dishwasher rack plate supports are literally rotting off, found three dish supports at the bottom of the washer, not impressed with our stay and after going here for 35 years may never return,

Time for some serious upgrades folks , Feel sorry for the timeshare owners, Steele Hill Resort is not what it used to be, Sad.

The Carpets need to be better cleaned and there was food under the chair in the living room when we moved it, very disappointed with our stay, we actually left a day early!!

Room tip: Children love to run through the hallway, the problem is they like to jump from the top to the landing below causing a loud thud every time
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Engine12494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Robillard, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that we did not create the experience you had hoped for during your most recent stay at Steele Hill. It sounds as if your main concern is in regards to your accommodations. After reviewing the details of your reservation and listening back to the phone calls prior to your stay, we found that you specifically requested the townhouse for your recent stay and have stayed in the West Townhouse styled units a number of times throughout the past decade. While the West townhouses and corridor do have stairs throughout, we also offer first floor rooms at Steele Hill, and we try to accommodate all guests as they request these rooms at the time of reservation as we know stairs can be an issue for some guests.

It is tough to hear that we did not meet your expectations, especially considering you are a returning guest with us. We are working closely with our team to ensure the issues you mention are addressed and you will be happy to learn that we are currently in the process of renovating the West Townhouse units with new carpeting, kitchen flooring, repainting the walls, window treatments and replacing all sectionals with a couch and loveseat combo. We wish that the issues you experienced were registered with management during your stay so we could take corrective action but would like to thank you for the additional feedback as it helps us to ensure a better overall customer experience.

We truly hope you reconsider a future stay at the Resort to see the updates and improvements firsthand.

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

My husband I stayed in room 47c in January. We booked this property and really had great expectations. We booked a room with a 2 person jacuzzi and was so disappointed. We are both of average size and there was no way we both were fitting in the tub. One of us barely fit. The other disappointment was how loud this room was. When the heating system clicks on (and the fridge), its so loud you wake. Then you can hear footsteps above you and your neighbors next door. Just paper thin walls. The rooms have a view of the parking lot and not the beautiful mountains. Also, the shower in this room is very dangerous. The water flows into the middle of the bathroom.

Our eating plan was to eat in the room due to Covid but the room was not setup for this. Only a bed and 1 chair. As a result we tried their restaurant which was not crowded at all. Social distancing was NOT a problem here. Wish I could say this was worth the $$$ but it was not. Our soup was cold, burger undercooked, fries colder, coffee at breakfast cold undrinkable and just plain horrible. I never leave wine on the table but their house wine (the only choice) I couldn't even stomach it. YUCK! The good: Our server was excellent and very friendly and understanding. You could tell he had heard some of our complaints before.

The ROMAN SPA at the pool area was very relaxing and not crowded at all. This was the highlight for us. The mixed drinks they serve at the pool bar are very good. The pool area is very nice and they did a good job with the Covid restrictions. Amber of Reservations was very attentive too. We had tried to change our room but was told they had none available and Amber called to check on us a few times. We did hike a few of the trails and that was fun. Its a very pretty area. Sadly won't be back.

Room tip: Top floor, first floor noisy
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen4120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Robillard, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you for choosing to stay at Steele Hill, it is disheartening to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. The room you were booked into is one of our handicapped accessible units and has a slightly different layout than the other South Hotel rooms on property, including a more accessible Jacuzzi tub and ADA certified roll in shower which is designed to drain differently than the standard shower. We understand that you did not specifically request to book the handicapped accessible room and I do apologize for that inconvenience during your recent visit. We have also since informed the maintenance manager about the noise from the appliances. I was surprised to hear of the noise transference you mentioned regarding your room. This building was specifically designed to block out the noise of surrounding guests’ rooms with the concrete and steel construction and we almost never hear of noise issues between rooms with this structure. Unfortunately, not all rooms onsite are able to have the mountain and lake views. Your reservation was booked online and we try to portray the room types exactly as is by stating each room’s views on our accommodations page.

We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some relaxation in the West Amenities center with our oversized Roman Spa hot tub and some delicious mixed drinks from the Oasis pool bar. We value both your feedback and business and truly hope you reconsider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Clean and comfortable resort during covid times. We went weekend after Christmas when the bad rainstorm had melted much of the snow and pond wasn’t frozen for ice skating. We spent time at the pool and water slides, and one day drive to pats peak for snow tubing since nothing closer was open yet. Overall clean, comfortable and the little family getaway we needed to relax a bit. Timeshare presentation was good and no issues when we declined due to covid uncertainties. I recommend a visit and stay.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank chrisjS798FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Robillard, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

We take great pride in making Steele Hill a safe, fun and relaxing setting for our guests and it is so wonderful to hear your appreciation of our hard work. It sounds like you and your family were able to enjoy the West Indoor pool area during your visit and also venture offsite for some nearby winter activities. We hope that you and your family will be able to join us again for some more fun soon!

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

Steel Hill was recommended highly by our time share place Blue Green at South Mountain Resort NH there is no comparison at all the unit we stayed in at Steel Hill was OLD DIRTY MICE DROPPINGS IN CABINETS AND DRAWS. The old section of the resort needs to be completely overhauled. When checking out only after 2 days I spoke with management to let them know how unhappy we were they did not offer another unit or anything.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank shellbe12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Robillard, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

We regret that your stay was anything less than ideal. We strive to provide our guests with only the most relaxing and comfortable visits so we’re disappointed you faced such difficulties with your recent visit. When you checked out with the assistant front desk manager, you were adamant about leaving property so he did not want to upset you by offering different accommodations at that time. After your departure, we did send the housekeeping manager and lead inspector to the room to take care of the complaints, however we did not find any mice droppings or signs of rodents within the unit. We also took the proactive step in having a professional pest control specialist thoroughly check before booking the room again. Steele Hill Resorts is continually working to improve our guest experience and we have relayed your concerns to our leadership team.

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews