We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gilford, New Hampshire

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sandy A
Wesley Chapel, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Views are great ... but the house is nasty”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Let's start with the positives ... the views from this house are amazing and it's in a great location. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. The best word to describe this house is "nasty". The bathroom tubs have months worth of soap scum on them. Worse than that, one bathroom had a huge wad of hair in the drain and toothpaste spit all over the mirror and fixtures. The sink had also not been cleaned in quite some time.

What's even worse than the condition of the house was the owner's response when we contacted him to let him know his cleaning company was not doing a good job. I will offer you a direct quote from his e-mail ... "The cleaning people spray Lysol on the tub walls so when you shower the mist of water coats the tub walls". That's what the owner thinks is acceptable for cleaning a shower. Disgusting.

Beyond the bathrooms, there was dust built up over long periods of time. Hats on the bed frame with dust so thick you could hardly tell where they were from. There was also some kind of cough medicine in the headboard cabinet. We're pretty sure the oven had never been cleaned and the kitchen had a generally greasy feel. The pillows and bedding were old and needed to be replaced years ago. Nearly all the pillows had brown stains all over them.

If you have children or clumsy adults you will definitely want to pass on this one. The spindles on the deck railing are ~ 18 inches apart and the railing is shorter than code. The upper level deck is also a hazard and will one day likely be an evening news story for falling off the house. One member of our party was a general contractor and asked us to please not go up on the upper deck.

The owner left many "helpful" hand-written notes all over the house. The house must have had septic issues in the past because he left notes in each bathroom about "No Female Matter" in the toilets and notes in the kitchen about grease down the sinks. That combined with the many e-mail and voice reminders about "female matter" made us concerned that he would use that as an excuse to hold our security deposit.

Getting our security deposit back was also an endeavor. We contacted the owner when we had not received the deposit more than 4 weeks after our rental. He said he did not have our address and would send it when we provided to him. A week later we had still not received the refunded deposit. The second time we contacted the owner he said he was out of town and would send it immediately upon returning home. Each time we contacted him, he seemed to have a different reason for not having returned the deposit. I finally got Flipkey to contact him to make sure he would return the deposit.

In summary, if you think the location/views outweigh a dirty house and an owner that is hard to work with than this is the rental for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Dirty house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
This was a renter that was not fully truthfull, first of all if they were unhappy from the beginning because they drove a long way and wanted to enter the home several hours earlier than allowed rushing the cleaning crew. I which case I told them no let the cleaning people do the job. During their stay their was no mention of what they wrote. They wrote this after I told them that they will get their deposit back after the phone bill comes in and the cable bill to be sure that they did not run up large pay per view movies and long distant phone calls. It was put on her credit card which gives them 30 days anyway. The house was gorgeous and very clean I did a walk threw before the got their. I will say we noted on their refund check never to rent any of our houses to them again because all the wine they spilled on the hardwood floors. We probably should have taken it out of her security deposit for clean up but she was such a screamer waiting 30 days for her security,we didn't want the hassle, Their has never been a complaint against one of our rentals. Since their visit we have had many rentals and I don't see any complaints from them. Home Owners that rent be ware!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gilford hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing