We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lokal IS Lekker”
Review of Lokal In B'bos

Lokal In B'bos
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Lokal is a gem in an otherwise perceived rough and tumble location. It is beautifully appointed and sophisticated.

We know the owners through a mutual friend and although we’ve only been twice in four years, and there is no bias in my review, outside of the restaurant they are interesting and great people. Inside the restaurant they are even better! Friendly, attentive, helpful. Lainey’s mom helps with service and Stanleys’ wine recommendation was spot on.

I’m not a foodie but as for the food. . . a small bespoke menu allows for only the freshest ingredients, and who really needs 40
options to choose from? There were two starters and three perfect main courses (red meat/fish/vegan) two deserts. We tried all
of it except the veg main.

The food had solid flavours, a real taste sensation and well presented! I have no word for describing how I enjoyed the trout. We would have been back the next day to “swap” the menu to have the other dishes but our timing was off and they were not closed. But we will be back!!!

A bonus is to take a short walk in their own forest between meals to soak in nature and make space for a more enjoyable next serving.

Make a booking, take the drive - its well worth it!

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Karin_Henriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2021

Be prepared to spend a relaxed afternoon enjoying mouthwatering dishes at this most incredible eatery. New chef, changes to the menu, now open more frequently (every Friday - Monday) ..same GREAT food. We enjoyed Mini Turkish Skewers (Beef / Chicken / Chickpea ...all excellent), Pyranees Lamb Neck with White Wine and Paprika sauce served on heerenboon mash (highly recommended). We considered skipping dessert but fortunately did not - we ordered 1 of each and shared. Delicious. So pleased that we can now go there for lunch more often!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

Burger day at Lokal is a treat. With three options to choose from, no one had food envy. For a vegetarian option the burger was packed with flavour, moist and held together perfectly. The vegan mayonaise is something to write home about. Served with a traditional spicy German potato salad (not potato and mayo), I enjoyed every bite.
The hostess is the perfect front of house person. The atmosphere is refined relaxed. It feels like joining friends for lunch.
I would highly recommend Lokal in Baardskeerdersbos. Price, you get what you pay for, flavourful quality food that satisfies body and soul.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank thezenbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Just wonderful, the location, food, ambiance is so special. Stanley, Lainey and Suzy have created an amazing experience that is difficult to describe. Red wine, coke and passion fruit may be my new favourite drink! Every course was unique but the sardines and pork especially good. I just wish I lived closer!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 194beverleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019

We have been at Lokal a couple of times and it was each time a divine and out of the norm experience . The menu always broadens the horizon on a culinary level, the surrounding garden is a little paradise and the service is top!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank suryalistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Lokal In B'bos also viewed

Baardskeerdersbos, Overstrand
Baardskeerdersbos, Overstrand
 
Pearly Beach, Overstrand

Been to Lokal In B'bos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.