We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy real chips, made freshly daily”

Marietjie's Pub & Grill
Description: Easy going pub, restaurant and padstal. Serving the famous Marietjie's breakfast daily. Out door seating and kid's paly area available.
Restaurant details
Description: Easy going pub, restaurant and padstal. Serving the famous Marietjie's breakfast daily. Out door seating and kid's paly area available.
Reviewed 10 September 2023

Had lunch and must admit the portions are hugh and we had to take half the food home. They serve real chips which makes me so happy! Hubby loved the ribs! Will definately go back!

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 595bethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2022 via mobile

What a wonderful find. The most amazing breakfast, would definitely return. Service was quick and the food turned up on one massive plate

Date of visit: April 2022
2  Thank LeonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2021

Marietjie’s serves the best fish and chips in the Cape! Super fresh (fetched by Marietjie on Friday mornings), the batter is light and crispy and the fillets are juicy and tender. Be sure to book your portion as it’s extremely popular among us locals. Available most Friday evenings.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 796lorraineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Large portion sizes, if you hungry then this is the place to get a BIG plate of food.
Very Jolly atmosphere!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank jj1reviews1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2021

I had never been to this area of the Cape and was spending one night at a friend in town. They recommended that we go to Marietjies for breakfast.
It was really enjoyable, large portions, tasty bacon and sausage, eggs, tomato, cheese, chips, toast.
Oh how I miss the thick juicy bacon served in South Africa, so tasty compared to the thin crispy bacon normally served in the US.

An unexpected pleasure was the shop attached to the bar/restaurant.
I was able to buy lovely locally made jams and bottled fruit.
There were so many choices I would have bought at least 10 if I wasn't going to be in trouble with weight on the plane.

Overall a lovely experience, it was everything I had been led to believe it would be.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Marietjie's Pub & Grill also viewed

Baardskeerdersbos, Overstrand
Baardskeerdersbos, Overstrand
 
Pearly Beach, Overstrand

Been to Marietjie's Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.