We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience West Coast Fossil Park
from US$156,97
More Info
from US$775,66
More Info
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil park dig site well worth the visit entrance fee fossils guide bear displays museum west coast hundreds treasure humour poster guesthouse skeleton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Andile was our guide. Wow, he was informative and engaging. High five to you for your knowledge. Loved the tour, loved the environment and importantly learnt so much. Who knew that South Africa once had bears. Restaurant food was amazing. Staff friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend Andile as your guide and to the Chefs, well done.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank 179ferne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

The West Coast Fossil Park makes for a very interesting hour or two. The museum part is interesting though a number of exhibits being updated. The actual in situ fossil site is great and our guide was excellent. It took about 45 mins. Overall a good place to go though definitely could be more made of it as it is a pity there is not kore fossil exhibition space. But good none the less.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank Matvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

We were advised to go and visit this place by our guesthouse host, and it was well worth the trip. The entrance fee is well worth it just to help keep this gem open! The talk by our guide was very interesting and she was able to answer all our group’s questions adequately. It was fascinating at the dig site to see the sheer volume of fossils captured in this small area. I just wish the dig could continue so more of these treasures could be uncovered! Hopefully the full skeleton of the African bear will be moved back to where it was discovered. The walk around the museum was very educational.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Heatherybluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

See the Westcoast with new eyes. Unbelievable to say tje least. Thanks for preserving the fossils. You must join a group. The light humour of our guide was well received and made it interesting. You have to take your kids there. A small shop on premises.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank kobusp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

The huge Lotto funded building and infrastructure leads you to expect more. Lots of modern rubber and driftwood sculptures, large murals and written information but I expected more actual fossils. I understand that it focuses on local conditions but perhaps they could purchase fossils from other areas or eras to add interest and not remain so narrowly focussed. The guide did well to make the tour more interactive but the museum displays need work.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews