We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience West Coast Fossil Park
from US$156,97
More Info
from US$775,66
More Info
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil park dig site well worth the visit entrance fee fossils guide bear displays museum west coast hundreds treasure humour poster guesthouse skeleton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

We had gone as a group at the end of December, expecting a dustbowl, as it was 15 years ago, only to be totally impressed! it is a world-class, impressionable destination for all, not just those dinosaur kids! It was educational and inspirational. The museum, auditorium area was cool, calming and peaceful. The displays were totally fascinating, It was informative and they were created with re-cycled materials.The great wood display was locally sourced over 2 years, A great labour of love and creativity, with the the time periods evolving through the displays. The park also provides employment for the old mine workers from the area. You do not have to leave to have a great lunch, The restaurant is airy, with high ceilings,great views, one may think one is in a wine farm. I Dig this space on our Earth!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank SarasNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

The tour itself wasn't very long but it was very informative. The guide was knowledgable and the staff friendly. If you're driving out from CPT I'd recommend making a day of it in Langebaan area because it's quite a drive for only an hour or 2s visit at the fossil park.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 374melissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2020

just had a visit to this fabulous fossil park with 4 children age from 3 to 9 years old they were intrigued with the amount of really simple info available so interesting we brought them back two days later to participate in an actual dig on site completely aimed at children great experience would recommend this place very highly well done to all concerned also the staff were very good
pj24

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 24pj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

We were invited by friends to visit with family. Last Time visited was about 10 years and wow, what a pleasant surprise at the new setup. Chalk and cheese is an understatement, a complete makeover for the better.
Well worth a visit to see how art is used to depict the past.
The tour guide was enthusiastic and informative.
We were fortunate to meet the park manager. Pippa and she added insights which was appreciated.
The food was acceptable and the coffee was great.
Have planned to take my twenty year old kids to see this new wonder a decade later.
Well worth the visit

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank RaviN_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2019

I must be honest I wasn't sold on the idea of visiting the fossil park when we were told this is a must do by the owners of the Blacksmiths cottage in Hopefield.

We wanted to stay local today and experience everything there was to see in the immediate surroundings.

Fossil park it is today!

Hmmm...... we were pleasantly surprised. Fascinated by the information and the great find between in the beauty of the west coast makes this an outing well worth it.

Everything great must be rounded off by good coffee.

We couldn't decide on what to have with our coffee so we had it all.

One day we will be fossils too.

Cheers to a great outing.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews