We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience West Coast Fossil Park
from US$156,97
More Info
from US$775,66
More Info
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
61
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil park dig site well worth the visit entrance fee fossils guide bear displays museum west coast hundreds treasure humour poster guesthouse skeleton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2019

I must be honest I wasn't sold on the idea of visiting the fossil park when we were told this is a must do by the owners of the Blacksmiths cottage in Hopefield.

We wanted to stay local today and experience everything there was to see in the immediate surroundings.

Fossil park it is today!

Hmmm...... we were pleasantly surprised. Fascinated by the information and the great find between in the beauty of the west coast makes this an outing well worth it.

Everything great must be rounded off by good coffee.

We couldn't decide on what to have with our coffee so we had it all.

One day we will be fossils too.

Cheers to a great outing.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Beautifull recently made museum, but the real highlight is actually visit the archeological site, with a guide. Lots of opportunity to ask questions.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank O9730BXandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

We were very impressed with this well laid out museum in a modern newly constructed buildingand with the guided tour to see fossils of mostly extinct animals in situ in the ground. R100 for both is very good value. It's well worth 2-3 hours of your time.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2019 via mobile

This park with fossils dating back to 5 million years ago is a must to visit especially now that they are in the new modern premises. Apart from the exhibitions and excellent tour guides one can also visit an excellent restaurant.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Henning V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2019

This visit was series of wonderful surprises! The informative and engaging guide introduced us to an extraordinary story that started 5 million years ago, while we stood gazing at the ancient bones of prehistoric animals, still wedged in the earth, as if just uncovered. Thereafter we visited the most lovely museum (one of the nicest I have seen of its kind - and I have listed many), full of beautiful visual interpretations of what we had just heard (including recreations by a range of artists and designers); and then to the excellent restaurant for lunch. Don't miss it, if you are visiting the western cape.. for children, teenagers and adults of any age.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank strewthless2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews