We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, friendly, scenic spot near the best...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
the Blowhole
the blowhole natural pool
Dolphin Room at sunset
Dolphin Room
Ensenadita Cove
our private beach
the beach below the Inn
view from the patio
the dipping pool
rock room patio
Rock Room Patio dining table
Rock Room #1
rock room patio
Small Rock Room
kayaking
surfing in the cove next door
sunset at the blowhole pool
sunset on the patio
enjoying the ocean
view from the patio
breakfast on the patio
bikers love it here!
the view of town
the bay side anchorage
big swell seen from the patio
sunset from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Bahia Asuncion, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, friendly, scenic spot near the best fishing in Baja.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in the rock room for four nights,and found it charming. It is a bit rustic, but very comfortable. It is like staying at a good friend's funky beach house. Juan and Shari are wonderful hosts and we are already planning a return trip. The offshore fishing is phenomenal and the beaches, especially San Roque are breathtaking..

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the rock room that Juan built and experienced the pristine beaches in the area and great fishing! See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Loved it and I will be back!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I have been returning to the La Bufadora Inn at Bahia Asuncion for relaxing and fishing for the last few years.

Shari is always cheerful and ready to help with any adventure that you have planned. Shari knows all the local restaurants of which there are plenty.

The accommodations are first class with beautiful views and comfortable furniture and coffee makers, microwaves and so on.

Fishing with Juan or one of his captains is also what I come for and I am never disappointed with the results. Always a fun and pleasurable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Juan and Shari
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
thanks so much for your nice review Ray...you are one of our favorite guests and we always look forward to your visits!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarkBlond...
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come for the specatular location and digs, stay for the people and hospitality.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our destination was the Bufaradora Inn in Bahia de Asuncion and our only disappointment once we got there was that we were chased away by hurricane Juliet far too soon. We stayed in Shari's new upstairs apartment overlooking the Pacific and whole experience was world class. Drinking wine out on the deck watching the pelicans, sea lions, dolphin and the intense spout of the blowhole down below has no rival anywhere else in the world.

We felt welcome from the minute we drove up and Shari was our wonderful host who helped us connect with Baja with a depth we have never had in our 20+ years of coming down. From the history of Baja, the secret corners, and the stories of the people we would meet there in our much too short visit made this one of the richest travel experiences we have ever had.

We were all set to enjoy a day out to sea fishing for the record yellow tail tuna run, but as fate would have it, we had to leave because of the epic weather which was predicted to saturate Baja Asuncion once again. We simply could not stay, but look forward to our next stay when we can have more adventures, meet more people and share more magical stories with Shari and her amazing family, which we now feel like we are part of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shari is your cosmic ambassador to the people, the history, the whales, and the magic that is Baja.
Liked least: Go home, sea lions. You're drunk.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's guests like you that really make our life more enjoyable. We sure look forward to spending more time together with your amazing family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motoged
Kamloops, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts in a great location away from the crowds and close to the real Baja”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in February 2011

I have stayed with Juan and Shari in their Inn (B&B) as well, at another time, in one of their rental houses overlooking the Pacific. Both times I have been traveling by motorcycle (off-road) and explored the area's coastline as well as inland areas. Juan and Shari offer a range of suggested activities which include fishing, diving, language lessons, surfing, and just sitting enjoying the views...to name a few. They are quite willing to let you explore the area on your own if you are the independent types, or can direct you to the people and places that you may want to connect with.

On my last trip there, I had fallen in a silt bed and badly injured an ankle two days earlier. Once I arrived, Shari arranged for a local ex-pat to attend to my injury until I could make it back to Canada. She introduced me to locals and generally stayed out of my way unless needed....a good thing from my point of view !

Bahia Asuncion is a coastal fishing town that is recently experiencing a bit of a growth spurt....some new places to eat and get some services.

Shari and Juan offer comfortable and affordable accommodations for those willing to get off the usual Baja beaten paths....it's not an all-inclusive in the usual sense....it's more of an "includes what you need with a hometown touch....and no time-share shills" place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of operators, Juan and Shari.
Liked least: I could not stay longer.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Gracias Ged for your informative review. You described very well what we aim to do here....to please our guests! It was fun having you laid up here for a bit so we could get to know you better. You are always welcome here at the Inn paisano! See you next year...ride safe!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IflyfishO...
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality above and beyond. A real travel bargain!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I have stayed at Bahia Asuncion La Bufadora Inn and at their RV Park. Shari and her fishing guide husband Juan are some of the most hospitable people I have ever met.These facilities are safe, secure and in close proximity to a very welcoming and intact Mexican community.

They also have a number of houses that they rent and there are accommodations for many different types of travelers from families to individuals who want to rough it in a rustic cabin.

There are many options available for one's entertainment, dining and cross-cultural experiences in Asuncion and Juan and Shari are tuned in to all of them.

I travel extensively and this is a place I return to and will continue to do so as long as I am able.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This is an incredible travel bargain and the hosts are very invested in the safety, security and entertainment of their guests.
Liked least: Sections of the road into Asuncion can be a challenge depending upon it's state of repair
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind words Rick...you are a marvelous guest and always ready to participate in local cultural events and have been a special hit with the children! You still hold the record for the biggest yellowtail caught...52 pounds!
We look forward to your next visit in the New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;