We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MRS PAULA CATHARINA BARNARD”
Review of Lythwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lythwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Pity this was a seminar which kept us up every night till 4 . I really would like to spend another week just to chill out and enjoy the serenity of the whole place. Food and rooms are excellent . Staff friendly and accommodating. this is one of thevery best.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulacatharinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Paula. We also wish you all had time to enjoy the view but I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Lythwood Lodge. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

My wife and i stayed over at the lodge for a friend's wedding. What an awesome place! Absolutely cozy and very peaceful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food, scenery and everything else about it was really good. Definitely will stay over again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grahamf183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Graham. We really enjoy the vibe guests bring to a wedding. Thank you taking the time to let us know you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We attended a wedding at Lythwood Lodge.
The property is beautiful.
Staff were very efficient and welcoming.
The actual wedding and reception were beautifully done and catering was delicious!
Our room was very comfortable and lots of thoughtful detail, like home made crunchies with the tea/coffee. Turn down service, with chocolates and warm electric blankets.
Overall, just a lot of attention to detail and a very comfortable stay in a beautiful, remote setting.

Room Tip: Room 16 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for noticing the small things we do and thank you for appreciating them. We look forward to your next stay at Lythwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Excellent accommodation and wedding. Food very good and service good.
Our wedding party had booked the entire place for wedding over Easter Weekend.
Being such a large booking could have caused problems but not so. Breakfast was served from 8 to 10 which was very acceptable. Did not really worry about lunch and in the early evenings the meals were great. Thanks Lythwood Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel but had family in a cottage bellentoth exc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words. The staff always appreciate it when their efforts are recognised. We hope to see you at Lythwood Lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

i recently had business in the area, so booked into Lythwood for the night.
I have stayed there many times over the past , and always excellent standards are upheld.
I had requested just a simple supper but ended up having 2 starters from a very enticing 3 course menu -and had the strawberry sorbet as my dessert. Then, was thrilled to retire to my room and have an early night in, with my book.
Lythwood is an award winning Wedding venue, and a beautiful setting both during the day or night. I was lucky to be in the bridal suite -and I could imagine the excitement of many a bride and her entourage , sipping champagne , as they get ready for a magical day.
Thank you Alison and Leon for always making me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharone714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Sharon. It is always wonderful to have you visit us at Lythwood and we look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidgetton
0.0 km away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
4.5 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
6.2 km away
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
#4 of 8 in Balgowan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Lastingham Guest Lodge
Lastingham Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lidgetton
52 reviews
5.7 km away
Caladdi Bed and Breakfast
Caladdi Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Lidgetton
46 reviews
2.2 km away
Pleasant Places Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythwood Lodge

Address: Farm 37, D18, Lidgetton, Lidgetton 3270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Lidgetton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lidgetton
Price Range: R1 531 - R2 444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantic Lythwood Lodge in the mystical mountains of the Natal Midlands is the ideal setting for that extra special weekend away wedding.From the small intimate wedding to a large social event, picnics of banquets, indoors and outdoors. Unique reception area for up to 300 guests, onsite chapel adjacent to the reception area and manicured gardens. Lythwood Lodge offers luxurious accommodation, friendly service and award winning food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lythwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing