We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking wedding venue”
Review of Lythwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lythwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We attended a wedding at Lythwood Lodge.
The property is beautiful.
Staff were very efficient and welcoming.
The actual wedding and reception were beautifully done and catering was delicious!
Our room was very comfortable and lots of thoughtful detail, like home made crunchies with the tea/coffee. Turn down service, with chocolates and warm electric blankets.
Overall, just a lot of attention to detail and a very comfortable stay in a beautiful, remote setting.

Room Tip: Room 16 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for noticing the small things we do and thank you for appreciating them. We look forward to your next stay at Lythwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Excellent accommodation and wedding. Food very good and service good.
Our wedding party had booked the entire place for wedding over Easter Weekend.
Being such a large booking could have caused problems but not so. Breakfast was served from 8 to 10 which was very acceptable. Did not really worry about lunch and in the early evenings the meals were great. Thanks Lythwood Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel but had family in a cottage bellentoth exc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words. The staff always appreciate it when their efforts are recognised. We hope to see you at Lythwood Lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

i recently had business in the area, so booked into Lythwood for the night.
I have stayed there many times over the past , and always excellent standards are upheld.
I had requested just a simple supper but ended up having 2 starters from a very enticing 3 course menu -and had the strawberry sorbet as my dessert. Then, was thrilled to retire to my room and have an early night in, with my book.
Lythwood is an award winning Wedding venue, and a beautiful setting both during the day or night. I was lucky to be in the bridal suite -and I could imagine the excitement of many a bride and her entourage , sipping champagne , as they get ready for a magical day.
Thank you Alison and Leon for always making me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharone714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi Sharon. It is always wonderful to have you visit us at Lythwood and we look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I booked accommodation for four adults. I received an invoice for four adults, but on arrival was told that I had booked for two people only. Luckily they could sort out this issue, but surely the reception staff should know these things before you arrive.
I have a major issue being charged "a Levy", firstly what is the levy for......if it is a tourism levy or tourism tax as they do in Europe, I am not aware of the fact that South Africans are suppose to pay one. The receptionist did remove it from my bill when i asked about it, therefore one must wonder why its on the bill in the first place.

On arrival we ordered toasted sandwiches as this was the only thing on the lunch menu. They were a disgrace.....there was hardly any filling to be found in the chicken mayonaise, very expensive and a small plate of chips cost R25.

The next morning at breakfast, (we arrived at 9.15) the staff had already packed the food away....after inquiring as to where the food was they brought it back from the kitchen with a bit of an attitude. The pork sausages are terrible, none of the wedding party ate theirs, when I went to the staff member cooking the eggs and told her, she didn't think it was a problem.

This said it is a wonderful wedding venue. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. It would be nice if some of my issues would be looked at, to make one's stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helliebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Good day. Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor as all feedback received helps to make Lythwood Lodge a better place.
I have no explanation as to why you were told your booking was for two people as it is clear that it was for four people from the start but I am glad that our reception staff could assist you timeously.
The levy that you have a major issue with is called the TOMSA levy. It is a levy collected by tourism business with the aim of contributing to the promotion of South Africa as the preferred tourist destination locally and internationally. Other hotels and groups that collect the TOMSA levy include Protea Hotels, Tsogo Sun, City Lodge, Thompson Tours, Sun International and Avis Car Hire to name a few. This levy is put on your bill but is paid voluntary therefore we were able to refund you the R16.00.
Thank you for informing us about your toasted sandwiches. The Head Chef has done some training and the problem of the filling of your toasted sandwich will not occur again. To put the price of our sandwiches into perspective, Wimpy charges R4.50 less for the same sandwich less the side salad which we serve and therefore your comment on being very expensive is a little unfair.
I have enquired with two other sets of guests who were at the same wedding who have confirmed that breakfast was still out at 10am. I will follow up about the pork sausages with our butchery as we have never had problems with any of our meat products before.
We are pleased to hear that you thought we had a wonderful wedding venue and that our rooms were comfortable and spacious and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This was our first time at Lythwood and I will defiantly go back again. There is just something special Lythwood. From the amazing views of the forests when having breakfast to the star studded sky at night. Lythwood is remotely located outside Howick offering you a proper getaway.

The rooms have a vintage decor but don’t feel outdated. They are well equipped and comfortable.
The lush gardens stretch in to the surrounding forests and offer the most peaceful of stay.
The hotel restaurant is top class from breakfast to dinner.

Lythwood is a must for people who need a break from the every day noise.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GerritGTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythwoodLodge, General Manager at Lythwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your kind revue. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidgetton
0.0 km away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
4.5 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
6.2 km away
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
#4 of 8 in Balgowan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Lastingham Guest Lodge
Lastingham Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lidgetton
52 reviews
5.7 km away
Caladdi Bed and Breakfast
Caladdi Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Lidgetton
46 reviews
2.2 km away
Pleasant Places Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythwood Lodge

Address: Farm 37, D18, Lidgetton, Lidgetton 3270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Lidgetton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lidgetton
Price Range: R1 531 - R2 458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantic Lythwood Lodge in the mystical mountains of the Natal Midlands is the ideal setting for that extra special weekend away wedding.From the small intimate wedding to a large social event, picnics of banquets, indoors and outdoors. Unique reception area for up to 300 guests, onsite chapel adjacent to the reception area and manicured gardens. Lythwood Lodge offers luxurious accommodation, friendly service and award winning food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lythwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing