We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding accommodation.”
The Lone Elk Lodge- luxurious accommodations with spectacular views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lone Elk Lodge- luxurious accommodations with spectacular views
Fully equipped kitchens for preparing and sharing meals. Beautifully appointed living areas with lots of amenities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The Lone Elk Lodge- luxurious accommodations with spectacular views
Fully equipped kitchens for preparing and sharing meals.
Beautifully appointed living areas with lots of amenities.
Spacious bedrooms with new beds and decorate with local themes.
Gardens and lawn surround the lodge.
A winter hideaway - lots of snow for cross country skiing!
Bedrooms have private bathrooms
Spectacular views of the Glacier Park peaks
Fireplaces provide a cheery evening glow
Spacious dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
East Glacier Park, Montana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gr8sk8tr
Massachussets
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We recently held an extended family gathering in celebration of my wife's 50th birthday. After deciding Glacier National Park as our destination to explore, hike and sight see, we began searching for accommodation for our group of eight.
After numerous calls and requests for more information, we discovered the Lone Elk Lodge. After speaking with the owners, Leslie and Carl, we knew instantly we had made a great choice.
Six weeks later we arrived in Glacier and discovered that our instincts were spot on. Lone Elk Lodge was a clean, spacious, inviting and perfect home base for our gathering. Wonderfully appointed with every amenity including a bright modern open floor plan that includes a modern kitchen, fabulous dining and tv/family room, gas fireplace, 3 bedrooms each with private bath and shower, we fell in love with "Sinopah". It was everything we could have asked for and more.
Our unit had an airy 'lodge' like feel with vaulted ceiling and exposed beams. But don't think for a minute that you are roughing it!! Every amenity we could think of was provided, including helpful hosts.
Yes the owners live next to the lodge in their own private residence. Yes they make themselves available if you need anything or want suggestions. But Leslie and Carl do a fabulous job of navigating the line between giving you assistance and privacy. We felt as if we were in our own private lodge our entire week.
We have stayed in many different first class establishments and travelled extensively. I can't imagine anything in Glacier that could compare, offering the flexibility, comfort and location of Lone Elk Lodge.
Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that Lone Elk is three minutes from the East Glacier access road. If you haven't visited this spectacular park, the east gate gives you access to four of the five must see valleys in Glacier. Having visited all five, I would offer that they are the four best valleys in the Park for hiking and wildlife viewing. The west gate gives you access to one of the Park's top five valleys and while pretty, isn't nearly as spectacular as Two Medicine, Saint Mary, Many Glacier and Waterton. Those are the four MUST see valleys in Glacier National Park. The Lone Elk Lodge is situated perfectly. The one day we visited the Lake McDonald valley was to cross the Going To The Sun Road which is a must see as well.
The only problem with the Lone Elk Lodge is it's not a secret and those who have stayed once, apparently come back. That's no surprise to our family. Any return trips to Glacier, we'll only be making one call.
Thank you Leslie and Carl. The Lone Elk Lodge is a gem!

Brian, Karen, Jody,Sam, Evan, Chelsey, Anna and Kay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open kitchen,and family room as well as the private bathrooms in each room
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina S
Pasadena, California
1 review
“It was great!!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

2 families: 2 adults and 2 children in each, stayed in this beutiful house for 3 nights in August of 2012 while visiting Glacier Park. The house is well kept, big, very comfortable, lovely. Everything you need in a house is there. The owner is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend to stay and enjoy the visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a lot of space and a nice yard
Liked least: distance to Glacier Park
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxuryExp...
Camden, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Clean well organized cozy condo-type units, nice owners!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Lone Elk Lodge, East Glacier, MT

A tip from fellow travelers led us to this lovely, very clean, friendly and well-organized lodge in East Glacier. Owners Leslie and Carl went out of their way to accommodate us when space was hard to find in East Glacier as the large lodges were closing and the smaller lodges such as the Lone Elk were full with late-season travelers such as ourselves.

As our new friends had advised, we found great views to the outdoors from a well-stocked and cleverly arranged studio. It sliding-glass doors opened to a comfortable deck with a BBQ set up that looked out over the grassland to the mountains. We could have followed a trail from our deck back to a beaver pond in the back of the property—one of several hikes on a list the owners had prepared for visitors.

Snow fell on our last morning here, giving us a taste of the winter landscape for snowshoeing and skiing. Inside our cozy condo we relaxed in two comfortable leather chairs facing a delicate cast iron gas heater that flickered and glowed like a woodstove, a mellow and toasty contrast to the snow outside.

The kitchen and its appliances were all functional and well chosen, the Murphy queen bed with inset reading lights above the headboard probably could be folded up if desired. Plenty of shelf space, although we added a wrought iron table from the deck to hold one suitcase. The impeccably clean shower had good hot water, the towels were thick—what a find. Check out the three-bedroom unit as well—we would return with friends next time.

Tip: arrive before dark or you might not see the sign!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from windows, gas heater, list of things to do left for guests
Liked least: Not enough time there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbeque2
Northwest Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sweet easy place to accomodate different adult family members.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place served us from those ready for an adventurous hike to those who needed time to relax. The kitchen was well equipped; the rooms very comfortable; the view awesome. Fun and laughter!
The owners are easy to work with and have provided many touches to make the stay easy and comfortable...if you forgot to bring it, they remembered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable and well thought out accomodations along with the owners sweet easy way of making you feel at home...and the setting!!!
Liked least: WiFi iffy...but that is very expected in this location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgper
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Two Medicine Sweet!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just got back from our stay at Lone Elk. We stayed in the Two Medicine Suite, their newest unit. It is a studio so everything (kitchen/bed/living room) is in one room. Incredibly well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, and such peace and quiet. We always look for quiet places to stay where we can cook and this totally fit the bill. Plus being in the off season made it very affordable. The only concerns I would express had to do with overhead noise from guests in the upstairs suite. You can really hear footfalls and our upstairs neighbors for most of the trip seemed to need to be up between 10:30 and 1 a.m. As a light sleeper that meant I was up as well. We also found ourselves wishing the owners had made a different choice for living room area furniture. Though the two leather chairs were really comfortable, a sofa or loveseat would have provided the option to sprawl/stretch out other than the bed. This is especially useful when one person is a night owl and the other an early bird, or when people are traveling together but are not sleeping together.
We also missed not getting to know Carl or Leslie. Leslie was out of town the whole time and Carl left after a couple of days. Their wonderful daughter, Mara, was an upbeat and very helpful host during their absence and it was a pleasure to meet her.
We got scones one day, too! and they were delicious. Very thoughtful surprise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude, the deck, barbeque at night, full kitchen (dishwasher!), proximity to East Glacier
Liked least: overhead noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing