We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Museum of the Plains Indian
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Browning
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was a fantastic exhibit - there were tons of fascinating artifacts crammed into a small museum. We easily spent an hour and a half here reading the exhibits. The building could use some aesthetic updates, but the content was amazing. We loved learning about the Blackfeet. It compliments the St. Mary visitor's center exhibit on the American Indian tribes nicely.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank millerkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local artists"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 15 reviews
"blackfeet nation"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"slide show"
in 3 reviews
"indian art"
in 3 reviews
"short video"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"artists working"
in 2 reviews
"current artists"
in 2 reviews
"indian reservation"
in 3 reviews
"east glacier park"
in 2 reviews
"no photography"
in 2 reviews
"available for purchase"
in 2 reviews
"great information"
in 3 reviews
"nice collection"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018

You can see a fuller review of this site under Blackfoot Indian Reservation, Browning, MT, but basically it’s the place to go to learn about the history of this tribe as well as what they’re doing today. The museum looks like a school building and includes several rooms. Excellent displays, local art for sale sometimes artisans on hand showing their techniques, and a nice gift shop. Well worth the time; we had an excellent host who gave us much more info about the Blackfeet both past and present.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MeetUsAtTheCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Museum is okay. Has quite of bit of Blackfoot history, but what we saw OUTSIDE the museum didn't quite jive.

Native Americans tout the fact that the "people belong to the land, not the land to the people" and to respect the land, but on a drive through Browning, we were appalled by what we saw.

Trash is left simply everywhere, obviously none of the residents cares about the "land" on which they live. Discarded tires and abandoned cars are the norm on that reservation. Why the disconnect between what is preached and what is practiced?

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I truly do appreciate the culture of the Indians who were here before white men came along, and I try to study it as much as a layman can.

This museum is a tribute to that heritage. While the building itself is old and needs a little tender loving care, the displays in the museum are first rate. I really, really liked the dioramas, and the antique pieces of clothing and tools that are on display. The craftsmanship of these people was just amazing.

They did so much with so little, and led a good life.

And then white people came along and "improved" it.

What a joke.

Do go see this museum. The entrance fee is $5.00, $4.00 for seniors like me.

There is a shop where you can buy authentic items made by the locals, and there is usually an artist in residence.

There is also a 20 minute movie, which was good.

Yeah, this museum is easily worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank LelandSisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The fine art of the Blackfeet craftspeople was amazing. The exhibits were well done and informative.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank NJFamilyAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Plains Indian also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Plains Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing