We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:00
Mayan Tour: Joya de Cerén UNESCO Site +Tazumal Ceremonial Center
17

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Tazumal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
66
40
29
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
40
29
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small museum el salvador entrance fee public bus mayan culture watch birds archaeological site foreigners stone jade capital vendors jewel route base reference cemetery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

The site is surrounded by a small town of merchants, restaurants and shops. When you enter the fenced off area, you’re free to roam the grounds as long as you stay within the designated area and not climb the structure. This visit doesn’t take long as you walk counterclock wise to see all sides of the building before departing. We spent more time outside this area looking at the vendors and grabbing snacks.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank Face_The_Elements
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

We stopped here while staying in nearby Concepcion de Ataco. Some parts are closed because they’re being renovated.

Tours are provided by volunteer tour guides. The guide we had was very good and spoke great English. The tour lasted about 30 minutes and was very informative.

It’s not a major site but it’s definitely worthwhile if you’re in the area.

Date of experience: January 2023
1  Thank JMK-Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022

We had a most instructed guide, Mr. Carlos Ernesto Guzmán, who not only presented the different components of the archaeological site but gave us a great contextual reference of the Mayan culture and related indigenous tribes that populated the place. It is an amazing structure populated more than 1,000 years BC, a religious and ceremonial site made of 12 different layers (one on top of the other) of platforms built over hundred of years, representing different leaders. Jewels and jade stones, ceramics, and a number of tombs have been discovered over the years (some of them taken to the museum in San Salvador, the capital city). There is a "Victory Stone" monolith stone with engravings of symbols and animals on its 4 sides. There are many expressions about the place in the indigenous Mayan/Nahuatl language. Currently there are diggings going down several stories (on the back left side) with new findings. The place is surrounded by trees and plants bearing medicinal substances used for centuries. The site is also adjoined by the old cemetery, for those interested in old crypts. Also, nearby there is the beautiful Cuscachapa lake where you can take your kids to watch birds and ducks. A total jewel!

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank Alfredo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2022 via mobile

I took public bus 218 to reach this attraction. Fare is 30 cents per person and the ride took about 30-40 minutes.

It was a 5-minute walk from the bus stop to the entrance of this attraction.
Entrance fee is $5 for foreigners, cheaper for the locals.

There is only 1 pyramid-like building that is cordoned off and climbing it is not allowed. One can go around this building and take its pictures from
various angles.

The museum is being renovated and is closed during my visit.

Date of experience: December 2022
1  Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

Tazumal is located inside the city of Chalchuapa which is a mere 15km (half an hour) from Santa Ana. If you base yourself in Santa Ana you pass it on the way to the Ruta De Las Flores (Ahuachapan entrance) and so it can be added on to the route.

Tazumal is the most impressive of the maya ruins located within El Salvador. However, it you compare it to any of the rich offerings elsewhere in mesoamerica the site is quite small and unremarkable. The original area was actually 10 square kilometres but most of it has since been buried under the town itself and not excavated. A stop includes a visit through the small museum and a viewing of the two pyramidal structures.

The big negatives are the $5USD entry fee (given it only takes 15 minutes to explore), the fact you cannot climb on the structures and the museum (which is small and only provides information in Spanish).

Overall it could be a welcome addition to your Ruta De Las Flores trip, but it wouldn’t be a big deal if you missed it.

Date of experience: September 2022
2  Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews