We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:00
Mayan Tour: Joya de Cerén UNESCO Site +Tazumal Ceremonial Center
17

Book in advance
from
R 2 672,86
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Tazumal
from R 2 672,86
More Info
from R 1 271,91
More Info
from R 1 824,92
More Info
from R 2 765,03
More Info
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
66
40
29
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
40
29
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small museum el salvador entrance fee public bus mayan culture watch birds archaeological site foreigners stone jade capital vendors jewel route base reference cemetery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2019

If you enjoy history and Mayan sites this is worth a visit. The ruins cover a rather small area within a town that has covered the rest of the original settlement. Suggest that you visit in conjunction with the nearby Casa Blanca ruins.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

This is an easy day trip on local transport. Catch a 218 bus heading west on 9th avenue?? Cost is 35 cents each way. Tell the driver where you want to go and he or the conductor will make sure you arrive at the right spot. A couple of blocks walk and you are there. Cost is three dollars, which seems to be standard for tourists in El Salvador. Only one pyramid to see, and it is small, but the museum has some interesting stuff, only in Spanish. The site is well maintained but there is not much to see, and the concrete put on the pyramid to preserve it makes it look, like my friend said, like a German bunker from some bad movie. They may tell you here the other site across town is included in the price, but it is not. Don’t waste your time or money. There is nothing to see at the other site except outlines of what was there. Totally not worth another three bucks. There are some souvenir shops and restaurants on the blocks leading to Tazumal. Good place to eat or look for some Jade.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Panamajoe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

Great place of Mayan ruins. This was a historic site that held religious importance. The elite lived here. Burials, religious sacrifices, and anything that was considered sacred! Find a tour guide to get more information about the daily lives!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank tganuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Don’t visit this place as it’s one of the ‘lesser’ Mayan ruins in central America & is frequently closed! We went there today, after first consulting with the tourism office in Santa Ana. We knew it was closed on Monday but were surprised to find that it was also closed today (Wednesday) as ‘it’s rained a lot recently’! We pointed out that at the time of our visit, there was sun & blue skies, plus we only wanted 5 minutes to take a few photos, but nothing we said made any difference. We were furious that having done all our research & traveled so far, that we weren’t even able to take a few photos, except from outside the fence.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank tropicalmissionaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

To be honest, i was expecting a more impressive place, bigger, but it's not, it's located about 1 hour from the capital, and the area is relatively small, such an impressive structure just to learn that there is nothing inside. On one side there is a small museum with interesting pieces of information and history. I would advice to include this with other destinations like Joya de Ceren to compliment your day.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank luiscanelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews