We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic country break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Trail7893...
1 review
“Idyllic country break”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a warm welcome despite our very late arrival. The cottage is compact,clean,comfortable and well supplied. There was sheep shearing, new puppies and a cock strutting his stuff in addition to wonderful countryside. What more could you ask?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2018
Thank you for your time for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
206stepha...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“None of us wanted to leave!”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Quite frankly an excellent find! The pictures on the advert do not do this place justice.
The cottage is excellent, clean, cosy and well decorated with all accessories you need to hand including wi-if code and places of interest you may want to travel to.
The cottage is an annex of the main farmhouse and this is a working farm so therefore there are animals on it. This may seem obvious to most people but based on the only poor review I have seen in here at least one person didn’t get that!
Yes the cockerel crows and if you’re going to stay on a farm what do you expect?
Our kids had the roam of the farm and absolutely adored all the animals, the baby chickens and the sheepdogs that were so friendly!
My daughter who wants to be a vet got to feed an orphan lamb and went out with Stephen (owner and farmer) and the dogs to do the morning check on his sheep. It was so exciting and interesting for her to learn about farm life.
Although the cottage is attached to the main house we had total privacy and had access to a good patio area where we BBQ’d.
Walking distance to a local pub with very reasonable prices (you certainly deserve a drink after walking up the driveway to the main road) and a local butcher that provides sausages to the royal family.
This is a perfect piece of heaven ideal for families that I cannot recommend enough, we will most certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review, hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry84
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely stay. Cottage was very quaint and cozy. I can't see how anyone of any age could give a bad review. We stayed at the cottage wed-fri this week and was just bliss. Was so peaceful! Owner was very friendly and made us feel welcome, we have a little girl and owner let her sit and watch one of the baby lambs be bottle fed which was nice. 5-10 mins drive to muncaster castle and ratty railway, not much longer down the road to drigg beach. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review, Hope you and the family had a nice holiday in wales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last week and had a fantastic holiday.
The cottage is in a great location with easy access to some lovely walks and even though the weather wasn't great we managed to get to Stanley Gyll Falls, St. Bees coastal walk, Wast Water, Ennerdale Water and a trip to the South Lakes Zoo.
We even had a trip to the beach which is only about 4 miles away.
The cottage had everything we needed including WiFi and we had a very comfortable stay.
The owners were very friendly and knowledgable about the best areas to visit and I would definitely stay here again.
Thank you for making us welcome and a great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you for the review Anthony we are pleased you had a pleasant stay hope to see you again.
Regards Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmur...
Coltishall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ruined Holiday”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I really feel the need to review this cottage so that other people are not as disappointed as we were. This was not an expensive cottage to start with so we were not expecting too much, however we were expecting a certain amount of peace and quiet.
The farm is not particularly hard to find, but the postcode only gets you close, not actually to the farm, and the mobile phone signal in this area is so poor that you cannot call the owner easily for directions.
The drive down to the farm is a bit steep and twisty, but no problem really.
We turned up and I guess the owner came out and showed us into the cottage, basically opening the door and letting us get on with it, I tried to make conversation with him, but he had no interest in talking back.
The cottage was just warm enough and the heating had obviously not been on for too long.
I must say at this point that the cottage was very clean and had all the basic essentials that were required.
We moved our stuff in, turned the heating up and went to the local pub for some food.
On our return we discovered that there is a link door between the cottage and the farmhouse, partially obscured by three quarters of a dresser and a curtain, this door was unlocked, and the farmer obviously had visitors in the room adjoining us as we could hear every word that they were saying, along with the continuous barking of the farmers dog !!
We decided to watch a dvd (supplied by the owner) to try to block out some of the noise which it partially did, then we turned in for the night. My step daughters room was accessed through the main bedroom.
The beds had clean linen on them, but unfortunately the beds are in dire need of new mattresses as there were springs sticking through them, so sleeping was tricky to say the least, so much so that my wife spent part of the night downstairs on the sofa, eventually returning about 2.30 am
All three of us were rudely awakened at approximately 4am by the farmers cockerels which continued to crow until well after day light when the dog started barking again.
If you are after peace and quiet this is certainly not the place to go.
We all got up very early as the noise was just too much, we used the very basic shower which was no more than adequate and packed up our stuff and left, enough is enough.
The linformation on this cottage also states that there is free internet, however we could only find access to the very expensive pay as you go BT service.
We did quite a lot of research before we chose this cottage, the reviews on trip advisor made us feel confident on our choice, oh how wrong we were !!
Stephen the owner had my mobile phone number, yet he has made no effort to contact me since our departure to see why we left or whether he could do anything for us.
I find just under £300 very expensive for one nights stay, I then had to pay for alternative accommodation for the rest of the week.
I am a farmer and have lived on farms for nearly 50 years, I have never come across noise like this!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Very sorry to receive such a poor review, How everyone as a right to review the property, I only wish that the guest hard approached me the following morning so that matters could have been resolved and if so dissatisfied a refund paid. This review does not reflect our previous reviews in 18 years of been in business
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing