We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
kerry A
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful two nights at this delightful cottage. We arrived late - midnight- but Stephen the owner was on hand to help us find the cottage. If you are visiting it will be very useful to get directions direct from the owner as at night we struggled and had limited reception so even struggled to call. It is a home from home with everything we needed. Our sat nav took us to within 300 yards of the cottage but it is not visible from the main road. We found the entrance to Row Farm but did not venture past the 5 bar gate. You do go through the gate and at the bototm of the unmade road you will find the cottage tucked away in total seclusion. Downstairs you have a open plan kitchen and lounge which is a nice size and a downstairs shower room with two bedrooms upstairs. You need to go through the double bedroom to the twin bedroom. Beds nice a comfy and all very clean with lots of old world charm. We woke up to lovely views with sheep everywhere and the lovely dogs with young pup. We visited to climb Scafell Pike and that was a half hour drive. Local pubs withing 10 min drive and same for Petrol station. We had a great stay and hope to return which is the best recommendation I can give.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaGil-Mar...
1 review
“Peaceful minibreak in the Lakes”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our journey took considerably longer than anticipated but Stephen was a great host and made us feel very welcome. The location is great for the West Lakes and the people in Waberthwaite made us feel at home.
Great little cottage (although disappointed that
we couldn't get the tv to work)...lots of room and privacy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelled as a family with two teenage children and dog. The annexe was comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The destination is perfect for visiting the beach or lakes. The owners are friendly and leave you to get on with your holiday.
Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezou103
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A clean, nice cottage in middle of nature with a lovely owner”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very clean. Sheets smell soap. It is in middle of a farm. Car needs to drive 100-200 m in a stone road to reach the place. I drive a Skoda and it was not a problem. The owner is a very lovely guy. He gave us farm fresh eggs. We ate dinner in brown cow which is a pub nearby. Food was nice. Pork belly cost 12-13 pounds. One day we visited Moncaster castle and birds fly show + we took steam train which was cool. Moncaster castle garden is impressive. The second day we drove to Windermere lake (1h drive). There we took green cruise trip. If you do that I suggest you spend time in Brockhole park. There are lots of adventures activities to do there. If you drive, better to come back to cottage before it is dark. Roads are hilly and narrow in that area.
Sea is very close to cottage. Few miles driving to a beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner - smell of sheets - nature around
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;