We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment yes, brunch lacking”
Review of The Boom Boom Room

The Boom Boom Room
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step out of reality, and escape into a fun-filled production spectacular that combines old-world styles with dance, specialty acts, singing, burlesque and outrageous comedy.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I will give the benefit of the doubt overall. Despite all the goodies listed on the Brunch Menu, they were not to be. We were greeted with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links and desserts and fresh fruit. No "Steak n Eggs benedict, No Waffles, No chicken, no potato casserole, no mini sandwiches or salads. Mgmt. did explain that their chef had quit unexpectedly and new guy says he did not see the menu until this very day and did not know what to prepare???? Yet he told us about the eggs Benedict he made for the earlier show. They did eventually bring out some wings, but we were still charged full price, and no offer of a discount or even a free drink. Speaking of which get the $12.00 drink offer. Didn't want to drink that many Bloody Mary's so just ordered Vodka on the rocks, and the "rocks" were rationed. Each drink was $8.00, Could have had the bloody Mary bar and just not used any mix for all you wanted.
The entertainment was very good and enjoyed that very much, but for an ok brunch, 2 drinks, and 90 minute entertainment with tip comes to $100.00

Thank travelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass K, Public Relations Manager at The Boom Boom Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Travelnut, thanks for taking the time to rate us! We love hearing that you enjoyed the entertainment that was provided to you, as well as your food! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we're looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"smaller venue"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"performers"
in 2 reviews
"burlesque"
in 8 reviews
"hilarious"
in 2 reviews
"stage"
in 2 reviews
"performance"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018

So while I had seen burlesque done in our own community theater, I didn't know what to think of this at booking other than, it seems like good fun. And that it was.

The location does remind you a bit of Moulin Rouge and a 1920's Chicago speakeasy. The staff is friendly, helpful, attentive and had some good signature drinks. We did not attend the dinner showing, but we hear they started a Sunday brunch on Mother's day. And yes, you the fact that you could take your mother there gives you an insight as to the tone of the shows, if you are new to the burlesque concept.

The dance numbers are impressive. The amount of time to create and energy of these dancers is almost unimaginable for the price of the show. And the sound, lighting and general theater tech is impressive too for a smaller venue. The show is performed in the round so, a bad seat would be hard to find.

The bar is located in the show area. So one piece of advice is that with any theater performance, you can't really get there early as the show might be on or in transition. Just plan on being on time, not early. There are plenty of bars close by on Washington to gather your party together for the short walk to the show. Also some of the downtown hotels off Washington down the numbered streets is a short, safe walk.

So if you are an adult and haven't seen a burlesque show, get off your keister you'll want to let this group give you a fun night.

Thank OleMissbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy D, Owner at The Boom Boom Room, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. We appreciate this and we do hope you come back again!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We had the most wonderful time at The Boom Boom Room last night! It’s definitely worth the trip and make sure to get the VIP ticket! The entertainment was fantastic, our server was so so nice and the bartender kept the drinks flowing! Such a wonderful time and worth the drive! #bbrstl My husband still has glitter on his face!!

Thank Bret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy D, Owner at The Boom Boom Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Yay!!! Thank you so much for visiting us. We are so glad you had fun and please if you’re in St. Louis again come back and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The venue was small but private, the employees were very nice. I assume the shows are different each time so will go back. The show was great.

Thank stevenhA2260EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy D, Owner at The Boom Boom Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for visiting us!!! We are glad you had fun and we hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We went to the 10:30 show with friends and got a VIP table next to the stage. The show was a lot of fun and very entertaining. Service was pretty slow. In the beginning the bar gets backed up with all the orders and it was quite a while before our order came out. When we did finally get our drinks, my crown and coke came out with no crown. They charged me full price but brought me a correct one the second time. Service got better as the evening went on but there were still several times when drinks were forgotten and we had to ask again. Aside from the drink issues, we had a great night. After the 10:30 show is over they let everyone get on stage and dance until closing time at 1:30.

Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy D, Owner at The Boom Boom Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi Devon,

We are so sorry about the service and drink issues. We want everyone to have a great time and enjoy their drinks in a timely manner. We will work on doing a better job with this. Thank you for visiting us.

Brandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boom Boom Room also viewed

 

Been to The Boom Boom Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing