We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 22:00
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing trip!

We started out by staying behind 2 humpback whales and that was great (by law, stayed 100 yards... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
Chris H
,
Ankeny, Iowa
Whales

On a rainy morning and a tad windy, we took the tour. NO disappointments! We saw many whales. At... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
denisleclerc2018
,
Brights Grove, Canada
Read all 225 reviews
  
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
177
34
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
34
7
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales sea birds northland discovery whale watching great tour ice berg hour tour knowledgeable staff captain and crew once in a lifetime huge icebergs iceberg tour highly recommend this tour top deck next morning early june within minutes
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

A very great way to get up close to the icebergs. Steve was an excellent tour guide with lots of knowledge of the area and Newfoundland. Well worth the drive up from Gros Morne!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank mikegK6419WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this tour and the professionalism of the captain and guide. Steve, our guide, made contact with each passenger and gave an interesting narrative of what life is like in St. Anthony. He gave a great description of the habits of humpback whales, seals, and puffins, and also polar bears. We never realized the journey that ice bergs take and what truly constitutes an ice berg vs. pack ice. We also learned about growlers and berger bits! We were fortunate to have a clear sunny day. But we were happy to have worn winter jackets, toques, mitts, and wind pants as it can get cold if you choose to remain on deck.
We saw two whales and some - excuse the pun - very cool icebergs!! Another check mark on the bucket list!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank digitalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Staff excellent . Very knowledgeable and friendly. Amazing icebergs. No whales that day but can't control that.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank sheryl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Time well spent. I've been on numerous whale watching excursions in which all we saw was water. Northland Discovery got us near 3 humpbacks and we got up close and personal with sever enormous icebergs.

They'll even fetch a chuck of iceberg out of the water and chip off a hunk for you to eat.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank brettcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Went to see the icebergs close up. We were not disappointed, learned the difference between pac ice and ice bergs.
Great tour and Steve was very informative and entertaining.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank BJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews