We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“11 Days at Los Molinos”
other travellers have booked this property
Another sunny day! Ours is the upper apartment so you have a choice - sit up or down!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Another sunny day! Ours is the upper apartment so you have a choice - sit up or down!
Below, the lovely plaza and refreshing sound of a fountain. (Turns off overnight!) Our traditionally Spanish door and tiled staircase.
The plaque says 'Los Molinos'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Another sunny day! Ours is the upper apartment so you have a choice - sit up or down!
Below, the lovely plaza and refreshing sound of a fountain. (Turns off overnight!)
Our traditionally Spanish door and tiled staircase.
The plaque says 'Los Molinos'.
Smart and comfortable, the living room mixes modern furniture with some antiques.
The living room is L shaped, here we're looking into the dining room end
From the dining area, we look over at the lounge, fireplace and entrance door.
From the other side we look into the open plan kitchen
|And through the arch into the kitchen
Atmospheric at night!
Beautiful moon over the plaza
Information
View from the pool terrace
Mijas centre, shrine to the 'Lady de la Pena', (6/7 minutes walk from Los Molinos)
Inside the shrine - a most peaceful and special atmosphere within
Cafe in Mijas park, a lovely place for lunch outdoors! Only about 10 minutes walk.
Sweeping view, right down to the coast from near the cafe
Free flamenco show in Mijas centre - about 6 minutes walk from Los Molinos
One of the dancers
The donkey statue, iconic symbol of Mijas outside The Tourist Office
There are lots of real donkeys too! Take a donkey-back ride or sit in a little carriage.
There are horses too ....
And carriages to ride in!
Or take a walk though the lovely park, high on a rocky plateau ...
Wonderful views abound; you can see North Africa on a clear day
And another view from the park .... looking West.
Also in the park, you'll find the bull ring and a huge stadium for shows
Lovely walks in the mountains behind Mijas - walkable distance from the flat
And amazing views like this are the reward for those who choose to go walking.
The fauna and flora up in the woods is surprisingly abundant
Delightful scabious
And other wild flowers (sorry, don't know the names) ....
This one looks a bit ike an Eidelweiss - don't you think?
All walked out? Simply pop downstairs for a delicious dinner at the Fiesta - 30 seconds away
Let's go to the coast. The beach bar at Carvajal has a lovely garden
Kalifato Beach Bar, situated right on the sands - what wonderful October weather!
There are several grassy areas right on the beach - it's a nice idea....
Another warm October, we swam in these crystal waters at Playa Las Yuccas
And looked at this stunning coastal view whilst we lunched at the cafe above
Nearby Fuengirola, situated at the coast, is also a good place for shopping
There are plenty of good street cafes and pretty plazas from which to watch the world go by
This is a lovely courtyard cafe in Fuengirola
Fine dining is available in Fuengirola; this is Pueblo Lopez
And, this is what we affectionately call 'The street of a thousand restaurants'! Choice abounds!
If you like marinas, Benalmadena is stunning!
Catch a boat trip to Africa from Benalmadena marina
Or saunter around the vast array of shops
See the boats ....
Or grab a bite on the Mississippi paddle steamer, restaurant, bar and night club
Near Mijas is Valparaiso garden night club, where every lady is very special; each gets a red rose!
One attraction on the Costa, Selwo wildlife park, is well worth a visit
There are giraffes at Selwo ......
There are zebras at Selwo .....
This is the best animal of all, the Red Panda....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patipaws
Haslemere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“11 Days at Los Molinos”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife Dominique and I have an annual timeshare week at Marriott Marbella in their low season (November - March). To make the most of it, we like to stay on the Costa a while longer. This time we decided to book an extra 11 days somewhere, more making 18 days in total. We'd never been to Mijas Pueblo, so a stay there could be a good choice.

After a journey through Trip Advisor we discovered Los Molinos and booked for Nov 2015.

The day came; it was a typical English autumn day; wet, cold and windy. The easyJet flight arrived at AGP punctually at lunchtime. We'd hired a car and planned to arrive at Los Molinos mid afternoon.

We'd avoided EZ's in-flight snacks, but not the bar. Two G & T doubles at £18 was price enough to pay. Same again on the return flight and our drinks cost more than the flight! We chose to forgo the bacon rolls, so by the time we landed, we were hungry.

It was lunchtime and we chose to eat al fresco in the sunshine at a favourite watering hole, Restaurante Faro Playa (at km 204 on the A7/N340). We lingered in the sunshine until well after 5 o'clock enjoying our long and delightful Spanish lunch and distant views of Gibraltar. Then as if to prompt us to get to Mijas Pueblo, it started heaving down with rain and with dusk about to fall, we scrambled to the car.

We found MP easily and set about locating Los Molinos, a tricky task in the rain and dark. The apartment is two floors above La Fuente Restaurante and to find it, you certainly need the Mills' map augmented by Googlemap print-outs.

It was now 6:30. Getting an on-street parking slot could be luck of the draw. Luckily, siesta over, the Spanish were back at work, so there were a few parking spaces on-the adjacent street which happens to be on a very steep hill. I actually parked opposite the

Our hire car had a slightly juddering clutch on collection. The steep hill was its last straw and there and then decided to fail completely with a strong burning smell, I just managed to park. We decided to sort it out next day and though hire company handled issuing a replacement superbly, it wasted half that day.

Having parked, you must find the apartments atop a huge staircase (the 39 steps I called them) or by an entrance gate at the same level as the apartment which avoids the 39 steps.

Then it was "find-the-front-door-time" and the revelation that once you open it, there is a rather formidable staircase to reach the apartment itself.

At 74 I have long term minor mobility problems and negotiating hills and stairs is hard work. So getting around was an effort. Besides we'd been going for over 12 hours and were tired, wet and irritable. We still had to lug the suitcases up the stairs but eventually we'd done it. Added to the endless airport traipses, events had taken its toll of my lower back and knees. I took several days to recover resulting in several days of self-pitying and cabin fever.

That aside,the property's description by its Cumbrian owners Ian and Cath Mills is accurate. There is nothing I disagree with in the many 5-star Tripadvisor reviews. My review' new topics are intended to add a little further insight.

Los Molinos is a well-appointed, one bedroom apartment in the newer part of Mijas town, and is just perfect for a couple. The living room has two comfortable sofas, which double as extra beds should you choose to have friends or family join you. An attractive antique wood, circular dining table with 4 chairs is located by two windows with different aspects and the street scene is ever-changing. If you like sky, you'll like the flat screen TV. Keep your luggage weight down by leaving your books at home. If you get bored at Los Molinos there's a bookcase with a huge number of eclectic paperbacks and board games. There is no DVD provision. Air conditioning, heating and mossie nets are available, though being November, we didn't need them.

The kitchen is separate from, but open to the living room. There is a comprehensive selection of utensils and cooking tools, and the 4-ring halogen stove works efficiently.

The Mills' condiments, cereals, groceries and cleansing products were generously available as were some bottles of spirits, with a "help yourself" to anything implication. We didn't use any of their ample stocks. Just down the street is a well-stocked supermarket which we used to buy most of our food and drink. Surprisingly the prices in Mijas are cheaper than the Supersol supermarket at our next destination, Elvira (Marbella). For 99 cents in Mijas (69 pence in sterling) you can get a perfectly good bottle of red wine which in Britain would cost over £5. The same wine is €1.09 at Supersol . I'd expected it to be cheaper at since it's not aimed at tourists. It's mostly used by locals and expats. But putting it into perspective, a similar wine in Britain would cost over £5.

Los Molinos was spotlessly clean on arrival. We didn't have a cleaner visit during our 11 days. We didn't need one. But knowing we were in a much-loved home, we tried to be ultra careful and leave the place as we had found it. It brings home the full trust owners of such a loved home place in strangers they've never met. During our 11 days there, no one turned up to spy on us, which was the

Our only mishap was the freak breakage of a stemmed wine glass. On our return, we reported it to Cath with an offer to pay for it. She graciously declined, reinforcing our view that we'd found truly trusting and generous 'landlords'.

We've been back a month now, and we miss Los Molinos.

I hope sincerely hope we return, and soon.

In the mean time, we have no hesitation in recommending Los Molinos for any length of stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Hi there,
What a brilliant review - the detail is fantastic, thanks so much! You were obviously model guests and looked after Los Molinos with great care. During our own recent visit we found that all was well and I replaced the glass from a spare in my stock cupboard, no worries.
Not only was this an excellent review for us but it made enjoyable reading too; I love your sense of humour! Reading your comment relating that great film "The 39 Steps" to those up from Fiesta I decided I had to count them. There are 16 from Fiesta level into the pueblo and then 14 inside the apartment, total only 30 I'm afraid so we can't match up to that degree of drama!
Just to let future readers know ..... we are aware of the difficulties of lifting cases up steps so our map advises entering the pueblo at the other gate where a gently sloping path allows guests to wheel luggage easily right to our front door.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the freedom and privacy of having no cleaner. Our policy is to have the apartment cleaned before arrival and after departure, with provision of plenty of extra clean bed linen and towels available. Should guests prefer to have a cleaner during their stay, some arrangement could certainly be made as happened when we had a 3 month booking.
Thanks again, if you want to re-visit, we'll be every bit as happy to have you back .... don't leave it too long!
Cheerio, Cath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Los Molinas apartment”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Los molinas for. 2 weeks ,the apartment. Was as advertised well furnished and clean one balcony overlooked the main road into Mijas, and an extended balcony overlooked a courtyard below with a fountain, ideal for sunbathing or relaxing after a night out. The bedroom had air conditioning which was good to cool the room down after the heat of the day. There was. TV with a selection of channels on wifi. The swimming pool is shared with other residents and is up a level outside it can get busy at times but not a great problem. The apartment is only a short 5 min walk into Mijas center. All in all we had a great time and would stay here again i would recommend this apartment for 2 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Hello there,
Thanks for a lovely review, good for potential visitors as it confirms a lot of the detail in our description.
Really pleased that you had such a nice time and hope you'll come to stay again when you're ready for another Mijitian holiday!
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norrieArd...
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Los Molinos Apartment in Mijas. It is in a great location with supermarket, restaurants and bars nearby including the famous chicken shop that everyone should try. It is a short stroll into the heart of the beautiful village where you can enjoy the atmosphere, restaurants, shops and the fantastic views down the coast.

Cath and Ian provided us with lots of information before we travelled and there is instructions on the use of the appliances etc within the apartment (very thoughtful). We made good use of the newly extended balcony from the lounge (table and two chairs provided). It was lovely sitting there with a glass of wine enjoying the sun and watching the tourist go by in the horse and carts.

We have visited Mijas a number of times with family and friends for villa type holidays, but we would not hesitate to return to Los Molinos again when it's just the two of us. Cath and Ian have a lovely place to be proud of!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, comfy and relaxing apartment in village type complex
Liked least: Nothing....all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Hello there you two,
Thanks so much. I could not ask for a better review, either from the point of view of being positive about the Los Molinos holiday experience, or by providing helpful info. for our future guests. You have covered every necessary aspect.
Thanks for such glowing comments: we'd love to have you stay again,so please keep in touch.
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona1Mac
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent position, handy for buses, shops & restaurants”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This apartment was perfect for our first holiday away without the family. Being on our own we were able to utilise public transport more and travel round and see more of the countryside. The bus stops are just a hop across the road, very handy after roaming about all day. The 2 restaurants below the apartment served up excellent meals with great service and the well stocked shops are just a short walking distance away. The flat provided everything we needed. It was comfortable, clean, well equipped and with all the windows open a lovely breeze blowing even on the hottest of days. It was nice to sit outside in the little square having breakfast before a quick dip in the pool to start our day off. Would thoroughly recommend this apartment and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi Fiona,
Very late reply from me - sorry. It goes back a good way so I cannot say why I didn't respond sooner.
Anyway, I have to thank you for a glowing report on our property.
Los Molinos is even better now with an extended balcony for breakfast, snacks or a relaxing glass of wine before dinner.
Not long after you left in 2014 we also bought new couches for the living room and of course continued on with our constant improvement program - there are various other little refurbs and additions.
We hope you will return soon, we'd look forward to having you back .... after all, it's been nearly two years!
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline A
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Los molinos”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Absolutely fantastic. Thats what we thought about our weeks stay at los molinos.The apartment had everything we needed it was spotless and very well laid out. The owners were always available at the end of the phone if we wanted any info etc. A gentle stroll into Mijas and thats all we needed,plenty of bars and restaurants and lots going on.What could be better. We will definately be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thanks so much for this very good review. In particular, I have to thank you for your extreme patience and tenacity regarding actually getting the review through as I know it took several attempts. I am very grateful.
It's so nice to be reassured that we are offering a good, well kept place and that our efforts to provide ongoing info and advice as required is appreciated.
Please do come back, we'll be most happy to have you!
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing