We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday home we could have wished for”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with Ekornes Stressless leather furnishings all seats recline
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with Ekornes Stressless leather furnishings all seats recline
Welcome to the Hindle Barn Sunrise over the courtyard guest parking viewed from one of the bedrooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Lounge with Ekornes Stressless leather furnishings all seats recline
Welcome to the Hindle Barn
Sunrise over the courtyard guest parking viewed from one of the bedrooms.
The well equipped dining kitchen with access to court yard parking and barbeque area
Pennine view bedroom en'suite shower room with super kingsized zip & link bed
Twin Bedded bedroom with Juliette balcony looking out over the pastures and beyond
Photo taken from the balcony looking down into the lounge
Finnish Sauna for a relaxing end to the day
Artch window from the lounge,
Guest's main entrance from the cobbled courtyard.
guest parking in the court yard
Direct access to the common for walker's cyclist or horse riders
Early Autumn, fishing pond
Early Spring, fishing pond
Roe deer jumping out of  garden
August Heather
Arial Veiw of Hindle Pastures, the pond is just out of view.
18.	Image taken from the twin bedroom of the horse pasture.
From the bottom of the drive looking out over Healey Dell nature reserve.
Mug shot of her whom must be obayed and Mr P, both of us dressed up for a change.
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitworth, Rochdale, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JochemWen...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday home we could have wished for”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in Hindle Pastures for one week in July. We brought our 7 year old daughter and all of us had the best time.
The cottage is spacious and very clean. It easily accommodates 6, if necessary, so the three of us had plenty of space to move around and feel at home. The outside area was breathtaking. Sitting outside for breakfast, watching the horses and enjoying the amazing views over Rochdale all the way towards Manchester and the surrounding area.
Hinde Pastures provided everything anyone could need, including 2 bathrooms, a bubble-bath and a sauna. A wide range of games (including darts and a pool-table) as well as a huge TV for the rainy evenings in (which we had). WiFi is excellent through the entire cottage.
Managers Paul and Jill were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, but by no means intrusive. Paul helped us when needed and provided us with all the ins and outs of the place and its area. He's passionate about his horses, which was great for our daughter to look at from a safe distance.
Altogether: We had the best holiday thanks to Hindle Pastures and thanks to Paul and Jill. There was really nothing that disappointed. It even exceeded our expectations. It was just perfect.
We would recommend this holiday home to anyone, with or without children. It is very well situated for all kinds of activities. We would recommend walking up the hill for more amazing views or walking down to Healey Dell for the best nature has to offer in terms of woodlands and waterfalls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the service and the overall experience
Liked least: Everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeb C
1 review
“Absolutely Brilliant Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Hindle Pastures from 5-17 June 2016 when my Mother, Father, Sister and Brother came to England for the very first time to visit my wife and I. I can't say enough about the property itself nor about Paul and Gill as hosts!

The property is set in a beautiful location with stunning view. Each morning when we woke up, we'd go outside to have coffee and upon seeing the views state 'yep, there's England'. The kitchen is roomy, the sitting room is cozy, and the bedrooms, while a little tight, are ample. It's a very friendly place to spend the evenings after a day of exploring. There's even a Sauna (which we didn't use) and washer and dryer (which we did use).

Its central location is perfect. We were able to take our family on day trips to Betws y Coed, Portmerion, Conwy, Whitby, Chester, Lancaster, Kirkby Lonsdale, Stratford upon Avon, the Lake District, and Manchester. There is so much that is in range!

The service was wonderful. Paul and Gill bent over backwards to make sure that we were accommodated and even made arrangements for us to get the keys early on the first day so that we could stock the kitchen. Be prepared that we found that there were fewer things left in the cupboards than we have found in other self accommodations (i.e. we had to buy kitchen roll and dishwasher tablets and there was nothing left in the fridge/refrigerator or cupboards when we arrived) but this doesn't take away from the overall incredible experience we had there. Having coffee outside in the morning watching the swallows swoop by with the green hills of England in the background was a wonderful experience. We are already looking for excuses to book in again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the feel of the accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreen40f...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Paul and Gill came to my rescue when my purchase of a new house near Hindle Pastures was not complete and I needed a temporary home for myself, my mum and 2 children. They were both very welcoming and the place is beautiful. Nothing was any trouble. The cottage is very comfortable and clean. The views are awesome. Had no problems at all. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akmalak
kuwiat
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good propety”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Nice place to stay, the wifi was weak signal and slow , other than this every thing was very good ..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View , location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Thank you Akmalak for you overall positive review.
We are disappointed your experience fell short of excellence in some areas. We have taken your comments seriously and have now added a new fibre optics router to serve the barn which has improved the Wi-Fi significantly. With regards to kitchen/utensils, we have replaced some and added extra items. Some rooms that were due for redecoration have now been done.
Best Wishes
Gill & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueScienc...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant, pastoral setting while accessible to airport and conveniences.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is set beautifully on a hill, overlooking the city and surrounding countryside. The views from all of the windows are exceptional. We found the beds to be extremely comfortable. We enjoyed everything about the accommodations. Weather permitting, it was wonderful to sit outside on the patio furniture in the cobblestone courtyard, watching the sheep and the horses on the moors. Paul and Gill are delightful and friendly hosts. They provided us with information about the area, and were ready for a chat if we happened to be outdoors. Their little Border Terrier, Missy, was adorable. It was fun to watch the people coming and going with their horses for riding on the moors. We would definitely return to this place if we needed to stay in the Manchester area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, on-site owners and the sweeping views of the countryside.
Liked least: The traffic in nearby Rochdale, because of road construction. However, we found ways to avoid it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing