We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not fit for a cockroach”
Review of Meadow Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meadow Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fawkner
Reviewed 16 November 2012

four families recently travelled from interstate and stayed here, it was absolutely filthy, even to dirty for the cocktoaches, our shower curtain was covered in black mould, holes in the woodwork from dry rot, cigarette burns all over hand basin and carpets and window sills i am sure have never been cleaned and so the list goes on. cleaning staff told us it was graded 1/2 star, but that is no excuse for filth.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

A fair proportion of locals woud be aware of this hotel having "women of ill repute" use it for their clients. We had family stay here whilst down from the country for a wedding and they checked out after one night. The comments expressed by others about dirty, broken rooms were also experienced by our family members too. We picked them up to take them out to lunch and were horrified at what we saw. People please don't consider bringing your family to this hotel. Oh lordy if this is your first experience of Melbourne after coming off the plane at Tullamarine I wholeheartedly apologise.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

While we were informed that this was not the Ritz, we were told that it was clean. Unfortunately that was not the case. After a long car trip, we were looking forward to relaxing and getting some sleep. We paid for 2 nights up front. The carpets were not clean and were very badly stained. Upon looking under the beds to make sure that nothing had fallen under them, we discovered old used bandaids, rocks, dirt and a mess that appeared to have not been vacuumed for a very long time. Behind the bathroom door, was what appeared to be a few years worth of filth mounting. When my husband shook the bed cover, the amount of dust and dirt that flew off it was disgusting. The wall had a massive dented crack in it. My husband was apalled when he opened the cupboard up under the bathroom sink, to discover used female hygiene items and a bowl with burn marks all over it. We got no sleep thanks to the permanent residents that rent out the rooms on the bottom floor. The adults were standing outside our room smoking and talking at the tops of their voices and children were running, screaming and playing on the staircase and landing until midnight. When we complained, we were told that there should be no children on the top floor because they live downstairs.... needless to say the noise stopped for an hour, only to start up again at 1:00am. When the people finally decided to go to bed, we continued to experience no sleep due to the loudness of the cars and trains that went passed all night and morning. They did not seem to be shocked or surprised when we checked out the following morning and asked for a refund on the second night as we were not staying for the second night. I was most disappointed as this was my first holiday away with my family and 8 month old daughter. Very unenjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maccat-vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I was planning to stay at the Formula 1 hotel at Fawkner and check out the reveiws. One said it was bad, try the Meadow Inn across the road. I did, booked for 4 nights. It was the worst hotel I have ever seen. After I checked in I went to my room to find it had no door and repair men where working in it. Back to reception, new room next to the old one. I was shocked at the condition and then the work men started up a power tool, back to reception, no one around, asked an employee to page someone for me which she did. After about 10 minutes I went for a wonder around and found the manager in the bar watching the olympics. I told him that I will be checking out and he seemed shocked (I was shocked that he seemed shocked!). He said he would give me a new room and as I was tired just flown in from Japan I agreed but told him I was leaving tomorrow. This room was not much better, close to the busy road, cold (big gaps under doors etc) very run down, no curtains just some old thin blinds tapped the the hugh window. The worst hotel experience in my life a nightmare!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Danchichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawkner
7,7 km away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1 319 reviews
7,8 km away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
643 reviews
6,7 km away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6,4 km away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
7,3 km away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2 322 reviews
0,7 km away
Hume Villa Motor Inn
Hume Villa Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Fawkner
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Inn Hotel

Address: 1435 Sydney Road | Fawkner, Fawkner, Moreland, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Fawkner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fawkner
Price Range: R915 - R1 024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadow Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 15 minutes from Melbourne Tullarmarine Airport the Hotel has 15 air conditioned, family friendly rooms. A light breakfast of cereal, milk, juice, a muesli bar and fruit, tea and coffee is included with the room at no extra cost. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, LCD TV, bar fridge, kettle, utensils, heating, cooling and wardrobe facilities. As a guest of the Meadow Inn Hotel you are also entitled to 20% of your food bill in the Hotel's bistro, daily housekeeping and complimentary use of the laundry facilities whilst you stay. Other additional features available upon request are: Sony PS2 with games, DVD player and Ironing facilities. The Hotel offers guests the convenience of a bistro, sports bar and indoor kids play room. The kids playroom includes movies, Playstations and a large indoor play gym, providing hours of fun and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Meadow Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing