We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel on the Mozambican Coast”
Review of Vista Do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vista Do Mar
Reviewed 16 November 2016

What started out as a men only, 60th pre-birthday bash, ended up being a hell of a 5 day celebration in 5 star comfort - one of our friends immediately booked the entire hotel for December 2017.

This is a place one needs to book out in it's entirety to be enjoyed with family and friends or in solace. It is not a place in my opinion to be shared with strangers.

Schantelle [yes - unique spelling] is absolutely brilliant at what she does - nothing is too much trouble or too strange a request, even when coming from a male only contingent.

The meals we enjoyed beat in restaurant in the area. We enjoyed lots of activities - diving, catamaraning, visiting the market and local must see spots. There is so much to do. Despite much initial bravado, deep sea fishing was not something anyone pursued although it was on offer - I think it had to do with opening the Jameson at 4am when the first ball was bowled in the Oz vs SA cricket test.

I recommend at least one visit in your life.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlewellynPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2016

The location and quality of accommodation is excellent with stunning ocean views from every room ,Chantelle and her staff spoiled us with fabulous seafood meals and bent over backwards to ensure our every request was met. Gys skippered the big cat around the Inhambane inland estuary sharing other lodges with.
This is a "must do" element to any trip to moz. Better value is difficult to find anywhere.
We will be back

Room Tip: All rooms have the same fantastic view and are almost identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

My 4th visit with friends to this great Lodge. Excellent food, service and hosts. A definite must is the boat cruise and deap sea fishing with Gys.
Thank you Chantelle and Gys for the excellent service and very enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Etienne_de_Fortier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This has been my 5th time at VdM. It's once again one of my best holidays ever. Great food, aircon in rooms, excellent service. Great value for money. Basically on the beach with beautiful northern faced see view...only a few in the world. I will be back!☺

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank jannied444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Had an excellent stay with friends. Staff and management were great, friendly and extremely accomodating. Facilities were above expectations and service comparable with any five star hotel. Will go back without a doubt. Thanks Gys and Schantal.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Oelrich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
1.3 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
1.1 km away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
16 reviews
0.5 km away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 21 in Inhambane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 15 in Tofo
34 reviews
7.4 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
253 reviews
7.4 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tofo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Do Mar

Address: Vista Do Mar, Praia Da Barra | Inhambane, Mozambique, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane
Price Range: R1 039 - R1 691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the trendy Praia da Barra (Barra Beach) in Inhambane, Vista Do Mar, meaning 'view of the sea' is a modern, tastefully furnished beach front lodge which offers ten stylish air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms (all with magnificent sea views 30 meters from the beach)and a range of other luxuries and activities such as fishing, charter, scuba, Jetskis, surfing & snorkling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Vista Do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing