We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
124
42
13
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
42
13
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstation innbike shophot tubthe pubshower blocklog cabinshepherds hutchurch strettongroupon dealgorgeous scenerymountain edgeeach podair bedelectric socketssteak mealcarpeted floorextra space
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a weekend in one of the lodges with a hot tub as a surprise for my husband as we were both in desperate need of some rest & relaxation. Upon arrival, we went into the pub to check in & despite it being really busy, a member of staff took us up to the lodge & showed us round & most importantly talked us through how to heat the hot tub! We relaxed on the veranda with a glass of wine admiring the gorgeous scenery before heading to the pub where we had a fantastic steak dinner. Staff were friendly & attentive. Then back to the lodge to relax in the hot tub before sleeping for 12 hours straight! The cabin was spotless with adequate facilities for all we needed. We’d checked ahead so knew there was no grill or oven in the cabin but knew we had a bbq if we wanted. A thoroughly relaxing weekend in an idyllic setting with the added bonus of an on site pub that also did breakfast on sat & sun. We can’t wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suzannervn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in mega pod two for two nights. The location is beautiful, minus one road it is surrounded by countryside. The lodge was very clean and well presented, both inside and out. The hot tub was put in the perfect location - unless someone walked directly in front you have total privacy. However, our lodge and the one up from it are the only two that offer any privacy as the lodges have all their hot tubs at the very front. The hot tub is heated using a log burner which is very easy to do and they provide everything you need. We did not use the restaurant as we brought all our own food, which we cooked on the bbq provided.
We only have two small criticisms. Firstly, they do not have aircon and despite the lady who showed us around acknowledging how hot the room was (32.5 degrees) she did not offer a fan. I think this is a little basic extra that would normally be offered and for a place that clearly doesn’t cut costs I’m sure it wouldn’t kill the bank.
Secondly, and a big issue for us was the amount of flies. There were so many in the lodge! Again easy solutions to this and maybe things like changing the bins daily (they charge £35 if you request a mid stay change) would prevent further complaints.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay. There was 4 of us plus a dog. 2 adults. 1 9 year old, a baby and a dog. Snug in the basic pod but it worked fine. We were in pod 6 which is at the bottom of the hill closest to the car park and it has its own picnic table. Pod 1 & 2 are at the top of the hill (furthest from the car park) and share a picnic table. Pods 1 & 2 are more secluded and wouldn’t have anyone passing in the night. The toilets/showers are basic but do the job but beware of the taps!!! Guaranteed to soak you every time!!! - owners please fix these, it’s a simple fix. Pub is nice on site but you need to book at weekends especially. Overall would recommend this site.

Room Tip: Pod 6 closest to car. 1&2 more secluded
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Winsford1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved every minute of it totally amazing. Maybe needs some sort of citronella lamp or candles for the evening not loads of flies but a few and that gets on my nerves. Pod itself is perfect for couples think it would be snug with 2 kids as well. Has everything you need even plastic glasses for the hot tub. The hot tub was sheer bliss and so so relaxing.

Room Tip: Could do with long mirror shelf by kitchen area and some sort of citronella lamp or candles for the evenings
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank j3nnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a weekend away in the pods. We were a large group of 6 families so hired all 6 pods.
Pods are fine, as expected. However they are up steps and if youre in the top 2 pods it can be quite exerting but ok for us.
Very clean with nice outside area for BBQ's but strictly no fire pits which we were a little disappointed with.
The shower block is small, just 2 toilets and 2 showers and no shelving or hooks around apart in the shower so a bit cramped and difficult when 3 or more are needing to wash and clean teeth.
No where to apply make up or dry hair either so this was a disappointment. Remember to take a mirror so you can do all this in your pod!
The other little disappointment was that there was no grassed area for the children to play any kind of ball games so all our 13 children had to make do with small area of grass by the carpark which was close to the luxury pods. Not sure how the occupants of them felt about a load of kids playing football whilst trying to enjoy their hot tubs!
We didn't use the pub as the weather was so lovely but looked really nice.
It is a lovely part of the country and when the suns shining is just beautiful. A great weekend away!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews