We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/22
Priceline
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$158
US$106
View deal
SAVE US$52
Expedia.comUS$131
Hotels.comUS$131
StayForLongUS$158
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 265)
Filter reviews
1 265 results
Traveller rating
530
334
197
108
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
530
334
197
108
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jimmy johns caribou coffee across the street mayo clinic underground access subway level methodist hospital parking garage the subway system front desk staff gonda building mayo buildings free breakfast convenient location mayo visit oatmeal downtown rochester
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 265 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Stayed here ONLY because I had a Sunday appointment at MAYO and it was right across the street, since most of the hotels in Rochester don't run weekend shuttles. Speaking of shuttles and other COVID protocol Kahler still does not run a week day shuttle, pool is closed and serves nothing for breakfast. Almost every other hotel there does now. As others have said, hotel is older. Our balcony room was huge, but the tiny bathroom was out of proportion to the rest of the room. The on site Jimmy Johns and Caribou Coffee was appreciated since the hotel gave you nothing to eat or drink (except for over priced $3.50 bottle water) in the room which we didn't touch. "Game Room" was a joke, games were sparse and most were out of order. Vending machine (your only choice for food after hours) at least 75% of items when you selected them would say "make another selection". Hopefully this is my 3rd and final trip to Minot but if I come back, I will not be staying at Kahler Inn and Suites. Rate was much higher too than my preferred location Sleep Inn & Suites where I moved to Monday after my MAYO appointments.

Room tip: Best way to choose a good room is at another hotel.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa Blythe, Marketing at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

We're sincerely sorry to hear that your experience wasn't up to par. Providing our guests with exceptional service and outstanding accommodations is something we take seriously. Please know that your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021

Please realize this hotel has two parking garages. One for small vehicles and one for larger ones. The hotel staff do not tell you this. Also, please note that the restaurant attached to the hotel is not open right now, for that is not something the staff tell you either; you have to ask. But the hotel is in a perfect spot to access the Mayo buildings by walking, absolutely perfect!

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gosse5979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa Blythe, Marketing at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thank you gosses5979 for your rating and review. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay. We appreciate the feedback and are always looking at how we can improve our services based on feedback such as yours. We have shared your review with our management team to address your concerns. We do have our closures listed on the website and booking engines to alert people before arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

This hotel is tired. Plumbing backed up across the hall and seeped into hallway carpet. Smelled like sewage the entire time. Hotel staff only used blowers to dry and dry carpet. Very disappointed in response of staff

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa Blythe, Marketing at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay. We did also have a professional company come out to dry and shampoo the carpets in the hallway. We appreciate the feedback and are always looking at how we can improve our services based on feedback such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021

The hotel is ideally situated for Mayo Clinic appointments. The rooms are nicely appointed, and not too big or too small. Lots of restaurants are within walking distance, and a lot will deliver to the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertarmstrong2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa Blythe, Marketing at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding overall service and clean room accommodations! We hope you will consider us again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021 via mobile

The Kahler Inn and Suites is literally across from Methodist hospitals main entrance. Great for anyone having surgery or being close to a loved one. Mayo Clinic is across the street from Methodist. The subway (underground hallways) connects everything. Need to use a wheelchair from the Clinic or hospital to the Kahler Inn and Suites? It's is all inside. The perfect location for patients with multiple appointments. You can relax in your room between visits. Last year both the pool and breakfast were shut down due to covid19. And remains closed as of this review. Hand sanitizer by the check in and social distancing reminders are in the elevators. Don't leave your room without a mask on. It's required at the Clinic and hospital and is still the norm. Rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable. Microwaves are available in Suites. Not all rooms have them. Beds are firm but comfortable. Staff is usually quite busy but always friendly. Today a fresh face (Madelyn S.) welcomed us to Rochester. She was very helpful in recommending Sunday dining options during the pandemic. We were able to check in early. The front desk will also hold your luggage if you are checking out and  leaving town after an afternoon Clinic appointment. Very convenient. Also if your over night stay needs to be extended, I have had very good luck booking a room here on short notice. This is not the fanciest place to stay. You are paying for the location. Fly in to rst, Lyft/Uber/shuttle to the Kahler Inn & Suites. Parking is convenient if you rent a car but is extra. $14-15 range per night. Caribou coffee and Jimmy Johns are located on each side of the entrance. You can stay farther away from the clinic but will need to take a hotel shuttle or pay to park in a Mayo parking ramp. I am glad to have stayed here pre pandemic and during one. I feel as safe as one can be away from home. Just ask for towels etc at the front desk. I don't have daily maid service at home and certainly don't mind if the room trash isn't emptied every day. I prefer no inroom cleaning staff during covid19. Housekeeping is usually on each floor cleaning empty rooms. Ask them for anything that needs to be refilled. Saves that front desk trip. I highly recommend this hotel. It's tough right now but I'm always greeted with a smile and "welcome back". I  will always stay here because of the customer service. And the reliability that I will have a clean comfortable room in the best location.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 777 507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa Blythe, Marketing at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding overall service and clean room accommodations! We hope you will consider us again the next time you are town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews