We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarnies before castle!”

Goose on the Green Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Walmer
Description: Goose on the Green Cafe is a trendy and fun place to eat breakfast or lunch. With a warm welcome to both dogs and humans the menu is both modern and traditional from classic full English to spicey chorizo Spanish omelettes. Every dish is cooked fresh to order from only the best locally sourced ingredients. Our coffee is made from only the finest Peruvian beans exclusive to us. Monday to Friday take advantage of our builders special deal and get a free drink with any one of our three set breakfasts! We are also Solleys ice cream stockists and always have a selection of flavours to choose from. Call us or drop by for our latest offerings.
Restaurant details
Description: Goose on the Green Cafe is a trendy and fun place to eat breakfast or lunch. With a warm welcome to both dogs and humans the menu is both modern and traditional from classic full English to spicey chorizo Spanish omelettes. Every dish is cooked fresh to order from only the best locally sourced ingredients. Our coffee is made from only the finest Peruvian beans exclusive to us. Monday to Friday take advantage of our builders special deal and get a free drink with any one of our three set breakfasts! We are also Solleys ice cream stockists and always have a selection of flavours to choose from. Call us or drop by for our latest offerings.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We popped in for a quick bite and a cuppa before visiting Deal Castle.......wow!! The sausage sandwich and the bacon sandwich were amazing. Bread was super fresh, and the flavours of both sausage and bacon was just spot on. Great coffee to top it off. We will definitely be back soon, it'll be worth the drive from Medway just to have one of their breakfasts! If you're in the Deal/Walmer area you must check this place out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali2201, Owner at Goose on the Green Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Malcolm

Many thanks for your kind review we look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Goose!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Waited 45 mins for food to arrive by which time we had both finished our drinks. Food when it did arrive was very fresh and tasty with great quality ingredients. I had a large breakfast and it was lovely. Wasn't a greasy mess like u come to expect with most cooked breakfasts. My partner had the Spanish chorizo hash and again it was very well made.

They need to consider getting ventilation as a urgent action. The cafe was filled with smoke and made the long wait for the food stuffy and unpleasant.
Another idea for management would be some form of table menus as it felt pressured when standing at the till looking at menu. Also isn't nice for customers being stood over while someone looks at the menu behind you on the wall.

Still giving 4 star based on the quality and taste of the food.

Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali2201, Owner at Goose on the Green Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Oliver

Many thanks for your kind review, we read them all and take on board all our customers thoughts. Many of the things you mention are on our hit list, we only took over this business in December and have had a lot to do!

We are working on ways to improve the ventilation and a new better placed menu board is in the design stage as we speak.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Goose on the Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Came in with my partner and our 4 month old baby. Were told there would be a 20/30 minute wait which we were fine with, to be expected on a bank holiday, unfortunately however we ended up waiting 45 minutes and no apology, not sure why as everyone else had their food and the table that came after us got theirs in 10 minutes. However the food was very nice. Also the cafe was full of smoke from the kitchen which made my eyes sting, not ideal for bringing a young baby.

Thank Eloise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali2201, Owner at Goose on the Green Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Eloise

Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We read all the comments and try to improve where we can. We are sorry that your visit didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.

Having taken over the cafè in December we have made a lot of changes and we have more plans that will hopefully improve the air quality further.

Many thanks

Goose on the Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A really fabulous place to go, we visited 3 times in a week we liked it so much. Great food; lovely, friendly staff; what more could one want. We'll be back.

Thank bluepeter2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali2201, Owner at Goose on the Green Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi
Many thanks for your kind review we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had breakfast today and waited over 45 minutes for a mediocre meal.

There is a sign to say food is cooked fresh so there will be a wait but our drinks had been drunk by the time our meal arrived and yet there were no free refills.

The poached eggs were fine but the cooked breakfast was mediocre at best. Bubble and squeak was really just mashed potato with a bit of chives in it, the egg was hard and if I'm honest the breakfast not good value for money.

The cafe is clean and the staff were friendly but highly unlikely we will return.

Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali2201, Owner at Goose on the Green Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Paula

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look at them all and try to improve where we can.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goose on the Green Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Goose on the Green Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing