We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely wonderful”

Review of Mill Stone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chapel St. Leonards, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimmyboy1...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed in Rooster's on site. The accommodation is perfect. There were four adults, a child and 2 dogs and there was plenty of room for all of us. Sally had baked us a cake and there were fresh flowers. Perfect base to explore Lincolnshire. The hot tub is amazing. Some of our party have already booked to go back in October. Wonderful place to stay, a real gem. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottstrav...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous barn in excellent location”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in April.
The location is great as its close to all towns in the area but far enough away from the noise of Skegness. 4 of us stayed in the Sun Rise barn.
The barn is beautiful and really well looked after. Spotlessly clean. The owners are there for anything you might need and Sally even bakes a cake for arrival.
Hot tub is great and the gardens are ideal for relaxing.
We will definitely return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T
1 review
“Great accomodation and a peaceful, relaxing week.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Roosters with our 2 dogs. Dogs were very welcome and the accomodation was to a very good standard, very clean and modern with good quality furnishings. The location was perfect for dog walks and strolls on lovely sandy beaches. It was very quiet and peaceful, but that was just what we were looking for, a relaxing week. Hot tub and garden was great. we were lucky that the weather was great for time of year. Hosts were perfect and welcoming but not intrusive on our relaxing week. Sally made us a lovely cake and there were fresh flowers and a tea tray on our arrival. We had a perfect last minute break in a lovely location in great accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam E
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxury Cottage in a Great Location”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Booked this cottage last minute after being let down by several owners of other cottages in the area after booking through Hoseasons/Cottages4u. We had seen Mill Stone Cottage but it in all honesty didn't appeal like the previous 3 we had tried to book. All I can say is how thankful I am to the owners of all 3 cottages that we tried previously and that let us down as their loss was our gain, and gained we did! As a manager of a travel agents and have been in the industry for 17 years, the one thing I will say is how annoying it is when photographers for companies like those I booked through, take pictures that do not do a place justice, Mill Stone Cottage is a prime case of this I'm afraid! I did speak to Sally and said that I believe her photos need changing as for starters the kitchen/diner/living room looked tiny on the website but in fact was very spacious with lovely countryside views! The other reason why we looked at other accommodation first was the fact others had 2 lounges and we wanted another room with a TV in it for the kids, when we arrived at Mill Stone we found that every bedroom had its own TV with DVD player! Again this information for us was key! If the brochure had better photos and a little more information then this would of been our first choice! I would class this accommodation as luxury with all fixtures and fittings of good quality. Private hot tub was beautiful and overlooked the countryside and I was impressed to see Sally maintaining the tub to a high standard testing the water every morning! Was also wonderful to walk in to a freshly baked cake and fresh flowers on the shelf, little touches like that for me go along way! Location wise is great whilst maintaining its rural charm with ponies, cows, pigs, ducks and chickens on site, it's yet only a few minutes drive from most tourist attractions in the area. My parents used the Ship Inn at night and absolutely loved it, 2 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk£, so location wise for me was 10/10! Overall we're hoping to return here in the summer as I think it'd be even better when with the outside space the property offers. Keep up the good work Sally, I'm sure we'll see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the property.
Liked least: Wifi can be scatty but Sally pointed this out to us, was a very minor point.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to Mill Stone twice now, and both visits have been lovely. When you walk through the door the cottages have real wow factor...beautifully well presented and welcoming. The facilities of each cottage are so good that you feel instantly at ease and at home, everything works as it should and there is nothing old or worn out about the cottages, unlike some places we have stayed.

Sally and Neil are very thoughtful hosts and we are really grateful for the effort the put in to running Mill Stone Cottages because you know that you can book confident that all will be spot on!

We especially like the peaceful setting, and the hot-tubs are fantastic, helping make a stay at Mill Stone one of the most relaxing times you can get anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$216
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing