We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunrise Barn - our idyllic summer home from home”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Mill Stone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chapel St. Leonards, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunrise Barn - our idyllic summer home from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We returned to Sunrise Barn for our fourth year running, and we have already booked for 2015. It has become, quite simply, a home from home for our family every summer. Owners Sally and Neil are friendly and welcoming and get your holiday off to the perfect start. We can only echo what everyone else has said about the quality of the cottages - they are superb. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-appointed, and with plenty of room to roam. All the kids loved exploring the grounds around the cottages and making friends with the dogs, the pigs and the chickens - a brilliant family-friendly place where everyone can relax.
And the location is beautiful. It is quiet and peaceful, but less than a mile from the charming village centre of Chapel Saint Leonards and its excellent but quiet sandy beach (parking £2 all day on Well Vale Drive car park - 5 mins walk from beach - and it's never crowded!)
It is the perfect place to get away from it all, but there is also plenty to do in the area. Skegness is only about 20 minutes drive (you can guess what's there, and Grand Central does a great family meal - huge portions, nothing fancy), and Hardy's Animal Farm (an all-day trip if you want) is roughly 10 minutes away. Rand Farm Park and the Parrot Zoo are slightly further afield but also good for families. In addition there are plenty of public footpaths nearby to explore the countryside, or you can simply walk out of the gate at the end of the road and see where it takes you.
Sunrise Barn is a truly exceptional holiday cottage in a beautiful part of the country. As a family, we are already counting down to next year's stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many positives to isolate one.
Liked least: Having to wait a year to go back.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEST SELF CATERING ACCOMODATION EVER STAYED IN”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled with the in laws, teenage son, husband and dog! If anyone ever says anything negative about all three cottages then they are lying!! We stayed in Sunrise but Roosters and Mill Stone are equally as good and just as well appointed. Sally is a great host and the extra little touches like fresh flowers and tea and cake on arrival are very welcome. We have only been home 3 weeks and have already booked for next year. TRY IT YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandabro...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding cottage with lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Spent several holidays in these cottages, every time has been as good as the first. Sally is a great host and her baking skills are enjoyed by all on arrival. Cottage furnishings to a high standard. Everything you could wish for in cottage, even dog bowls & towels. We will definitely be returning :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill P
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful and relaxing holiday as always”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have been to Mill Stone Cottage on a number of occasions. Sally gives you a very warm welcome and a scrumptious victoria sponge cake is waiting for you on arrival. The property is ideal for me as i have a severely disabled son in a wheelchair and is perfect for all his equipment. I would definitely recommend this property to everyone

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookieMon...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunrise Barn - fantastic”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The venue has three rental properties and we booked the Sunrise Barn for 5 people in mid April 2014.

We were pleasantly surprised to find a cake waiting for us on our arrival.

The description of the cottage was spot on, it's in a peaceful location and the inside is very well decorated.

The beds are really comfortable and the appliances were all clean and well maintained.
The cottage was always warm - a word to the warning is to make sure you turn the heating off at tea time or it will be too warm to sleep at night. Most of the rooms have windows that you can open but the master bedroom is on the ground floor and we can't really leave the French doors open at night.

The hot tub was fantastic, It's a must and I beIieve all three properties have one.

We were really pleased to be able to bring the dog with us, the garden is enclosed and so she was able to play out on the lawn. There are a few farm animals in the surrounding fields that we were able interact with which was brilliant and they were far enough so as not to be heard when we were sat outside.

The seal sanctuary at Mablethorpe is a must see. For the photographers amongst you we would recommend checking the RAF CONINGSBY website as on Tuesdays they often demonstrate flying the aircrafts including WW planes.

We were in no way disappointed with the property and would return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing