We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A different, relaxing experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates
Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Vessel sink from local potter Lu Ommen expertly placed in Amish cabinetry
The perfect anniversary getaway
Homemade bread, Amish eggs, coffee, tea, etc provide breakfast when YOU want it
Sheets, towels and yukata (Japanese bathrobes) are lined dried  on site, most seasons
About us, after teaching for 25 years in Japan we are enjoying sharing our love of Japanese culture
Japanese farmhouse style cabinets made by the Amish master Mr. Yutze of Granger MN
Yes, we have cable television and wifi but also a fireplace  and jigsaw puzzles.
Japanese antique chest and Chinese style chair with
Only 5 minutes from Harmony/Root River Bike Trail, the Loft has an interior and exterior entrance.
The wild flowers are beautiful this year, saw two monarch butterflies in August.
Along the bike trail, stop to see the sinkhole exhibit provided by the Harmony Historical Society
Asahi Beer glasses found at the flea markets in Tokyo will hold your favorite beverage.
Your view from your private deck complete with new Sunsetter awning.
@Hegel photographer overhead view of hibachi
If you see our chortan (pile of rocks) you are at our driveway. Welcome!
Newly opened business Weddings at Asahi.
Repairing shoji doors and window covering
Large closet hidden by shoji doors.
Winter season is also popular with our guests. Doug loves to blow snow  from the driveway.
We have a great connection for cross country ski and snow shoe rental
Although the summer flowers are gone, on a sunny day you can enjoy relaxing in sunshine
Sections of the bike trail only need a small amount of snow to be enjoyed.
We have hosted honeymoons and many anniversary celebrations but Rosie and Vern 'take the cake' 64 yr
New sign marking the interior entrance to the Asahi Loft.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harmony, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charis L
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“A different, relaxing experience”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Asahi was a memorable experience! It was different to stay at a place with so much detail into making the place relaxing. Mixing in Japanese culture is fun idea and it was fun to try on the yukatas that are available to wear. We explored Harmony and visited the Niagara caves, but just staying inside the Loft was equally as appealing. I highly recommend going for something different to do, and to get away for a weekend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Such delightful guests! Photographing them in their yukata under the red /orange torii gate was a new experience as an innkeeper. The Asahi Loft has allowed us to keep in touch with young people and see our experiences through their eyes. Thank you for coming to Harmony and thanks for adding this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica B
Glenville, Minnesota
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing stay with all the ammenities.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you're looking for a weekend retreat, I'd definitely recommend the Asahi Loft in Harmony, MN. My sister and I were celebrating with our Mom for her birthday and stayed for a weekend getaway. We loved the space and amenities provided and owner, Cindy Ofstedal, was very accommodating and quick to help answer any questions. Having stayed at several B & B style hotels in the past, I would put Asahi at the top for cleanliness, a peaceful setting, great home-made snacks and the large space available to enjoy time away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking time to add a review on your stay at Asahi Loft. Saw your "mom" enjoy her quiet time on the deck while the daughters were still sleeping. A recent guest was an very early riser and asked if we could use a little WD 40 on the door so she could sneak out. Great suggestion! The Loft is spacious enough for everyone to have their space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikole A
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Cannot Say Enough Good Things”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was my third stay at the Asahi Loft and I can't wait for my fourth! This place and it's innkeepers (Cindy & Doug) are nothing shy of exceptional! They think of everything, anticipate your every need, and go an extra 10-miles to make your experience everything you want it to be. This is simply the best lodging experience I've ever had. I wish there were an Asahi Loft everywhere I went. If you want peace, beauty, and a wide variety of activities, you need to stay at the Asahi Loft!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the deck
Liked least: Nothing...I loved everything!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thanks Nikole for your review...and I want to let people know that until NIkole's first stay, we had never met. Her reviews are so complimentary that some people might think we are related, but that is not the case. We also look forward to your 4th stay Nikole.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric J
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the Asahi Loft. Cindy was such a welcoming and gracious hostess, providing us with everything we could ask for and more. The loft is very welcoming and comfortable, and the tub is a real luxury. Cindy provided us with many excellent recommendations for things to do and places to visit during our time in Harmony. You will absolutely enjoy a stay at the Asahi Loft.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Basically everything about our experience was excellent.
Liked least: The mattress was a little soft for my liking, but that's just personal preference
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking time to post this review and for your compliments. We find that guests do search for peer reviews when choosing their lodging and so we appreciate you taking time to add your thoughts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“An Experience Not Just a Place to Stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cynthia and her husband have created this amazing retreat. There was so much thought put into the Loft, down to every little detail. They have made a place to stay into an experience. We walked in to Zen music, homemade bread, fresh eggs, flowers from the garden and yukatas on the bed. Oh and I almost forgot chocolate! With all of those things in addition to the bathtub and patio I was able to feel refreshed and relaxed. An unforgettable way to spend our anniversary!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
After teaching in Japan for 25 years, we thought the Loft would be a great way to meet new people and share our love of the Japanese culture. We also wanted to stay in touch with the younger generation and this young couple fulfilled that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing