We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bacon MAC n cheese.”

Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
Description: Gator's serves sandwiches and menu items based around cheese. In the evenings we offer tabletop gaming.
Restaurant details
Description: Gator's serves sandwiches and menu items based around cheese. In the evenings we offer tabletop gaming.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great little place! Excellent stick to your ribs food. We have visited here twice in a couple of days. Friendly people. Great addition to Ely!

Thank hmdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, Owner at Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you! We're so glad you were able to visit us twice and that you left full and happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We found Gators while looking for breakfast. We were offered outdoor seating and were allowed to have our dog with us on a leash while we ate. Browse the fresh herbs growing in the planters on the railing knowing they are used in the homemade menu options.
The menu is simple with choices that are unique and delicious! The breakfast salad is a wonderful choice and a staple on the menu. They offer gluten free options when you ask. You may even want to purchase the gluten free bread by the loaf once you taste it.
Each of us had different breakfast choices and were amazed by the unique, tasty spin they added to every meal. All the dressings are homemade in house. Even the melted cheeses on top of breakfast potatoes and scrambled eggs took the dishes up a notch!
The staff were helpful and quick to refill our coffee and tea while we took in the view and enjoyed our meal.
We KNOW Gators will be a place we stop back at often when in Ely. Check them out, you won’t be disappointed!

Thank Beckie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, Owner at Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you! We enjoyed having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Great food with a unique twist. I don’t think you can go wrong with any choice here. If your in Ely make sure you stop by!

Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, Owner at Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I was happy I was able to finally eat here. He had the breakfast burrito. It was huge and he loved it. I had a grilled cheese on wildrice bread with fried potatoes on the side. The potatoes were tasty and the sandwich was crispy on the outside and gooey in the inside, just like I like it! The side of slaw was perfect to cut the flavors. My only regret is that I didn't try the mac and cheese. I will next time! Service was great. People were really friendly.

Thank crazycampinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, Owner at Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for stopping in and taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Remember the classic grilled cheese and tomato soup lunch? Gators makes many delicious gourmet variations of this classic lunch. The service was prompt and friendly. There is a fireplace and games to play for those cold winter days.

Thank Jarnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, Owner at Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you so much for talking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gator's Grilled Cheese Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing