We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/11/05
Comfort Suites
US$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/11/05
Trip.com
US$167
View deal
Expedia.comUS$184
PricelineUS$183
getaroom.comUS$191
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
500
201
41
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
500
201
41
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lift bridge canal park closest hotel balcony room king suite lake superior walking path free breakfast overlooking the lake nice room stayed two nights visit duluth coffee maker north shore ships tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2021

We recently stayed two nights, and had a wonderful experience. Everyone was so polite and friendly from the time we booked the stay to the time we checked out. Front desk, ladies who serve the breakfast and even the guy who vacuums the halls are all super friendly and say hi and ask how your day is going. Our room was ready when we checked in and it was very clean. The property seemed adequately staffed as nothing was lacking, not something I can say about their neighboring property where we heard nothing but excuses. We had a balcony, book early if you want one. The beds are comfortable and the shower has great water pressure. We will definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carrie_H0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2021

We have stayed here for visits the last few years. Clean rooms, good beds, Good complimentary breakfast, eggs, sausage, doughnuts, waffles etc. Great location on Canal park. Book early for a lakeview. At checkout I did mention a couple of small maintenance items that needed attention at check out, which I suspect was corrected and did not impact our stay. At time of check in (3 pm) our room was not ready. I suspect due to workforces not returning post covid as many businesses are experiencing. This was not a issue for us, since we had shopping to do. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank W2618KSjoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2021

We had one-night stays at the beginning and end of our trip (North Shore and Ely between). The first time we had a view of the two lighthouses which was very charming, and the second time our room faced the parking lot and Canal Park. The hotel has an upscale feel and we liked it very much. The front desk staff were thorough and helpful. Because of COVID-19, they took our breakfast order the day before and it was ready to pick up at the time we specified. They offered everything that would normally be on their buffet including hot scrambled eggs and sausage. We picked it up and ate in the dining room which looks out at the Lakewalk. Hotel staff poured the drinks (coffee, juice, milk) to avoid guests touching all that. This hotel is very close to the Aerial Lift Bridge and you can easily walk to everything in Canal Park.

Room tip: Lakewalk view is really nice
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LovesPhotoOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Location couldn’t possibly get better. Pay for the lake view upgrade room, it is 1,000x worth it. Waking up to views of Lake Superior was enchanting. This is the closest hotel to the canal. It’s perfect for watching the cargo boats come in and out. The boardwalk is magical. Currently it’s undergoing construction. Thankfully it was still open our first night of our visit.
Kim at the front desk was helpful with restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was solid. The eggs tasted “real” and not like an egg product as hotel eggs often do. Beds were comfortable. The set up with the halfwall was a bit annoying with little kids. We were constantly chasing them off of it. Yes The pool is large and has two hot tubs. We did witness an exchange between a housekeeper and management that was a bit uncomfortable on our last day there. Even with the negatives, the positives still made for a comfortable and memorable stay!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DGHLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2020

My husband and I stayed two nights here for my Birthday. The check-in was very quick and simple, the two staff that we worked with were very friendly and helpful (I asked for shower caps and was given two right at the desk), and the kitchen staff were also so kind and went out of there way to make sure if we needed anything with our breakfast.

The precautions put into place for Covid-19 were easy to understand and didn't disrupt our visit at all. While it would have been great to have a spread of breakfast options like usual, we take what we can get in this odd time and make the best of it, which I agree the hotel has done for its guests. The breakfast food we ordered was mediocre, but "free".

We chose a lake side room so we had beautiful views of Lake Superior. When we woke up, it was just a few steps away to the Lake Superior Board Walk (which was under construction but still usable), and a matter of a few more feet to get to the actual Aerial Lift Bridge/Piers. It was so wonderful to have that luxury!

Parking is free in the lot. Quiet stay, no loud noises due to construction outside the window. The room was alright, nothing fancy and could use some updating and the fridge froze some of my veggies that we stored. Also, the in-room coffee maker is super outdated and the coffee was terrible. But, as I said, we made the best of it and were grateful for the accommodations.

We would stay again but it would be nice to see an updated room (shower, coffee maker, fridges).

Room tip: Beautiful views of Lake Superior!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MNWildButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews