We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
73
48
12
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
48
12
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives mouth watering direct access friendly and welcoming staff a lovely stay tucked away worth a visit game reserve lodge bush park accommodation prince guide elephants safari fuel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderfull stay at Royal Thonga.

The rooms are spacious and special. Although no airco or fan, the temperature at night was good to handle.
Staff is friendly and helpful and do take interest in you.

There is no WIFI but we did not mind. Actually it was quite nice and enhanced our quality time. There are plenty books to read and games to play.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Cluster Operations & Development Manager at Royal Thonga Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear Dman1984,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when our guests have enjoyed the tranquility of the lodge and surrounds.

We are currently sourcing and reviewing data suppliers and should have Wifi for our guests in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Snyman
Cluster Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019

we thought of topping our kwazulu-natal safari with 2 "luxuriuos night at this lodge. First at the reception there was questions about the prepayment which has worked perfectly in all other places we stayed. This could have been pointed out in correspondence done before our arrival. When presented to our room it was clear that fan or AC was non-existent and no fridge! Generator was only working early morning or 2-3 hours in the evening. A german couple had planned 5 nights - maybe on honeymoon? - and they left after the first night. A south african "safariman" left after one night due to lack of generator. The management seemed to think that they could be excused because of the "of the beaten track location" or they seemed to think that it was "finer" without these things.
The buildings are very beatifull indeed and the restaurant was fabulous as the pool. because of all vegetation it is difficult to spot birds and animal on the grounds. The very experienced gentleman guide Guru actually saved our stay with very nice gamedrives. Staff in general very friendly.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meerkat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2019

This is a beautiful lodge, unfortunately that is where the compliments end.The lodge itself is very clean and artistically designed, but without properly trained and enough staff to run this place it is going to go downhill fast. They seriously need to train their staff and look into finer details. We arrived after a 10 hour drive and were exhausted, just to find no one at reception. After about 10 minutes a guy arrived. Not apologizing for letting us wait. Also there were another group of people that wanted to check in. He didn’t even look at them or acknowledge the fact that he will be with them shortly.
The chalets are beautiful and very clean, but this is a very warm part of South Africa. No bar fridges in the chalets. When we arrived at the main bar area there were not a person in sight, surely they know that guests just checked in. At the main bar area I ordered a Hunters Dry. No glass, no lemon. Just a very warm drink. The most astonishing fact was that they have no ice. Why spend millions on such a beautiful lodge and don’t have an ice machine. When we requested a bucket of ice we were told that if we gave the barman money he will go and buy some ice for us at R25 a bag. It’s just ridiculous to think that a lodge with this high rating will have ice. Another upsetting factor were the tons of flies. We left the main bar area where we sat outside, because it eventually became unbearding.Rooms were clean and minimalistic. The bathroom however was a mess as the design of the shower allows for tons of water to steam out of the bathroom into the bedroom. The place is very bad lit at night and 2 of the 3 bathroom lights didn’t work. Our bed lamp was broken. We booked a 2 bedroom chalet and when we used both showers one guest had to shower in an ice-cold shower. The wi-fe was very weak. I suggest they don’t bother to advertise Wi-Fi. There is no coffee making facilities in the room. None of the 3 doors had keys. We are from Gauteng and use to lock our doors. There was no big bin in the sitting room area, only small tiny bins in the bathrooms. Dinner was really great with a home cooked meal being served. Unfortunately there were no ambiance. We had to ask the waiter to please put on some background music. The wine was warm and if I say warm. It was definitely not in a fridge. Breakfast was just ok and our toast arrived when we were nearly done eating.
It’s a pity that such a beautiful place is run in such a bad way.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAfricawithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2019

Royal Thonga is a lovely establishment. The rooms are simple, comfortable and stylish. The food tastes really good and the dinning area is beautiful. It is best for a quiet family or romantic holiday, not so much for business. Getting a phone signal was a problem.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank XhosaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyTembe, Manager at Royal Thonga Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Hi Passport47914116873

We thank you so much for your feedback; it's great to see from your review that you had a favorable experience with us.

It's a true honor to be able to respond to your review; if you can remember, you had booked during our first week having full time running electricity. Since then, our cellphone signal has definitely improved over time in our area.

We hope that you also enjoyed the community Umthayi (Marula) Festival as we truly look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Thonga Safari Lodge.

Kind regards,
Wendy Tembe
Royal Thonga Safari Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

We were disappointed with certain aspects of our stay. The receptionist/bar lady was incompetent. Did not know what whiskey was, couldn’t help some German guests to serve them a gin & tonic. The food was good but basic. We requested a fan and were told that there are only 4 fans in total and that these had been allocated to other guests. There 14 rooms in total!! The rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant, but need more training

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patty348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews