We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
73
48
12
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
48
12
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives mouth watering direct access friendly and welcoming staff a lovely stay tucked away worth a visit game reserve lodge bush park accommodation prince guide elephants safari fuel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

A very nice hoel- The living room and the rooms decoration is awesome, the food is good and the staff is very friendly. I will definetily reccomend for travellers who want peacefu and out the crowd holidays.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cristinah2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Royal Thonga Safari Lodge is just outside Tembe Elephant Park, with the about 15 chalets lovely spread among the trees and the bushes. Each unit has an African theme and comes with a bedroom that includes a seating area, and a bathroom, as well as an outside shower, all tastefully done. The construction is based on natural materials and the decor is African. The swimming pool area is very pleasant, with sun loungers and the restaurant area is very inviting. The walkways set within the lodge are beautifully designed and we can hear the birds singing all daylong. It is a very beautiful and relaxing place to stay!

There is limited electricity (morning 5.30am until 9am, evening 5.30pm to 9pm). For me that was not a problem. It helps to relax and to change the usual rhythm of life.

The dining area is a beautiful open area under a thatch roof and the food is very good.

The staff is efficient and friendly.

Apart from enjoying the place, there are several attractions around. First of all, the Tembe Elephant Park. You cannot drive your car in the park but the lodge offers game drives at reasonable price. We spot many elephants and several types of antelopes. We also went in a boat trip across the three lakes system of Kosi Bay, which was very pleasant (it was also arranged through the lodge staff).

It is an expensive stay but it deserves every penny. It is a lovely place, where you have the sense of remoteness but at the same time you feel cosy.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The lodge is under renovation and will be very nice when done, and should not impact guests much going forward (they were almost done with the communal areas when we were there). It is situated just outside the Tembe elephant park. The rooms are a mix of tent and thatch, and are large and comfortably appointed. There is a mosquito net over the king size bed, but not over the kids bunk-bed nook (built into the wall, which they loved). The rooms are connected with a lit wooden boardwalk and are spaced for privacy. There is a warm outdoor pool with loungers. The food was home-cooked style food. Our guide was knowledgeable and we enjoyed watching 4 herds of elephant come and go from a watering hole.

Room tip: all rooms are close to the shared lounge/dining/bar and pool area.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganBrownJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Although the lodge was under renovation the staff went out of their way to be cheery and helpful. The food was generous and of a good standard. The accommodation clean and inviting. We didn't use the pool ( winter ) but it too, looked inviting. We really enjoyed our game drives in Tembe National park but unfortunately did not see that much game other than tonnes of Nyala and impala. We did of course see some beautiful Elephants and a few other plains game ... buffalo, giraffe, kudu etc.The lodge organised a lovely boat trip to see the interconnected lakes at Kosi Bay which was very serene and relaxing . Over all our stay was great and I would go back but I would wait until the renovations were finished.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We had a pleasant overnight stay at Royal Thonga on our way to Southern Mozambique. The food was ok (dinner), reminded me of good old 'home cooked' meals like your mother used to make for you, provided she is a good cook :)

They have a lovely pool area to have drinks at and take a dip (was a bit cold for us) and a boma area to sit and have a drink or two at before and/or after dinner. The lodge staff were friendly, didn't see any managers.

As it was our anniversary, we stayed in the 'honeymoon' room which is just the furthermost room from the main lodge otherwise, I think all the rooms are the same. The room was great, quiet, clean, spacious and nestled in the bushes with a lovely outside shower (also was too cold to try out by the time we arrived) and bathroom. We had to shower before the morning game drive and it was freezing but we survived! Would have been nice to have the option to shower after the game drive rather, before we left, but the generator is only on at set times. Also, the showers use gas to heat the water, which turned off every few minutes, so showering was an interesting experience as you had to turn the tap on and off to get hot water. Only having power twice a day is a bit limiting but it does add to the truly African experience.

All in all, a lovely stay and a nice long game drive, seeing all the beautiful elephants was a treat! Will visit again, in Summer, and hopefully the big cats come out to play :)

Thank-you Royal Thonga and staff for the lovely stay!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ashleighdnldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews