We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkconnel, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael A
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed Monday to Friday in this beautiful cottage with my wife and 10 month old baby. Lorraine has thought of everything you could possible need down to a flask and picnic sets! And if there is anything else you could think of she is more than happy to get it for you. The cottage if beautifully decorated throughout, feels like you’re staying in a posh hotel! The master bedroom has TV and an en suit and the second bedroom two single beds with room for the travel cot. The lounge is perfect for relaxing with a Wi-Fi, dvd and cd player. Outside they have hens which our baby loved to see each morning, there were even fresh eggs left for us which where delicious. There is also a nice court yard you can sit out in if you’re lucky with the weather.
If you want to go out there are plenty day trips to choose from, Lorraine will be happy to give suggestions and directions. We visited a small town called Biggar where there are plenty of places to eat and watched their famous puppet show in the enchanting theatre this runs in Tuesdays and weekends. Edinburgh was on our to do list it took an hour and a half but was really easy to find parking and was a great day out. Our favourite was Mabie Farm in Dumphries which, had so many things for children to do, peddle boats, water slides and adventure play areas.
If you want to get away and enjoy day trips out and lazy evenings in i would definitely recommend Darna Tighe cottage, superb hospitality in a relaxing setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful cottage in peaceful, relaxing surroundings. Owners could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Even purchased a high chair so we didn't need to bring one! Fresh eggs waiting for us from our chicken neighbours. Cottage was immaculate, spacious, with en suite bathroom and seperate bathroom. Everything had been thought of - e.g. glasses, crockery, foil, scissors, iron etc. Garden was lovely and really pretty. Good base for travelling to Ayr, Kilmarnock and lots of nearby attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful cottage, newly refurbished and very comfortable. A very relaxing place to stay. A car is needed to reach Edinburgh (90 mins) and Glasgow (60 mins). There is also much to discover in Galloway

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very relaxing and quiet place to stay
Liked least: Quite remote, towns some distance away, but this is also a positive!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutcaba
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from hime”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed here twice now for weekends and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The house is beautiful with everything you could need thought of and more, really clean and spacious. The owners are very friendly (so are their chickens!) and know the surrounding area well so can advise of the best places to go for days out even the unpredictable weather can't put a dampener on a little holiday here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver C
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing