We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage and surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkconnel, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lesleyann...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and surroundings”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 days for a suprize birthday present for my fiancee. The cottage is stunning and has amazing views. I can't wait to come back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thankyou Lesleyann for your lovely comments. It was my pleasure to host you both.
Katrina X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsLCam
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully presented cottage, well equipped kitchen and hot tub!

The cottage is bright and modern, smart TV and decent speed wi-fi. Finished to a high standard, we found everything we needed for a 4 day break.

The hot hub is then the icing on the cake!

Katrina is a fantastic host and had thought of everything that you will need, including a fantastic welcome pack which included fresh flowers, and some fresh produce!

We are already planning on a return visit next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like "Home" immediately. The hot tub is also great!
Liked least: Bed was a little hard for our preference, but I would book again and pack a mattress topper!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thankyou for your kind words. Look forward to your return xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyday2...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage with lots of lovely extras. Katrina excellent to deal with. Everything spotless and good quality. Can recommend hot tub as well as whole experience. Look forward to returning one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a beautiful, comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Donella Cottage for three nights and loved the cottage. It is a fantastic holiday let with excellent facilities, everything on the ad was there and more. The kitchen is well stocked with all the facilities you could need and more. The hot tub was an excellent addition since we initially booked and very relaxing. We wanted a peaceful relaxing break in comfortable surroundings and that's exactly what we got!

We visited Ayr for the day and were disappointed with the seafront and the poor water quality that day. I expected more seaside facilities than was there so we had a drive down the coast and compared with the Solway Coast and the North East England coast we were quite disappointed. We also had a drive to Wanlockhead and were again a little disappointed that there wasn't even a little coffee shop, we didn't go to the lead mining museum as we didn't fancy it. There was some amazing countryside especially on the way to Wanlockhead with lots of people out panning for gold!

We didn't really explore Kirkconnel itself apart from having some extremely poor fish and chips from Frankies fish and chip shop, I wouldn't recommend it! There didn't seem to be a lot going on in the village when we were there but beyond the local pub, an Indian restaurant and a cafe there didn't appear to be a lot there which didn't matter to us as we were away for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Mattress was too hard but that's a personal preference thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne G
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely area.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a wonderful relaxing holiday in this beautiful cottage in a lovely quiet setting. There was everything you needed and more inside the cottage. It was beautifully decorated with everything matching. The extra touches were much appreciated especially the fresh provisions which were a great help when we first got there.
There are lovely walks around the area but you are also close enough to explore the coast and surrounding areas around Ayr.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing