We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, first not great experience”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Park Place is our favorite spot to stay in TC. You can walk anywhere downtown, the views from the top floor bar can't be beat, and you can park for free. We always try to stay when we go to TC and just returned Monday from a 3 day weekend. For the first time however, we noticed some issues with our stay.
The ice machine on our floor (4th tower) was overdue for a cleaning, it was pretty gross actually.
On Sunday, we left our please make up the room sign on the door when we left for the day (~11:30a). When we returned that night, the sign remained on the handle, the carts were gone from the hall, and our room hadn't been touched. We mentioned this to the front desk employee on our way out the next day and he basically just said, 'Oh'...acted as if he couldn't have cared less.
None of these things are super egregious on their own, but this was our first negative experience at the hotel. We hope it isn't a sign of the staff and service we've always seen starting to slip.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nick, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. It is not often or intentional that we miss cleaning a guest room, so this is very concerning. As far as the ice machine on the 4th floor, sanitization was completed by a contractor prior to your stay. We do ensure our products are safe for our guests. I certainly hope you will be back. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can assist with your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Enjoyed a 7th floor room in the tower, nicer room than ones not in the tower. Great views of the bay. Construction next door never was a noise problem. Toilet leaked a little water. Room was spacious as was the handicapped accessible bathroom. Enjoyed good service at the ground floor bar Minerva's. Front desk service nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rozjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you, Rozjaf. We appreciate your business very much. We plan to be better in areas you identified as being subpar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband and I just returned from a short stay at the Park Hotel in Traverse City. I was a bit nervous about what the hotel would be like due to many negative reviews.
I'm so glad we stayed there. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a little issue with the ac when we first arrived but someone was up right away to help us. My room was fabulous. I did request one of the newly renovated rooms on the 9th floor. It was very nice and clean and we had a beautiful view of the bay.

We ate at Minerva's for breakfast every morning and the selection was good. We would go to happy hour at the rooftop bar and had a lot of fun meeting and talking with other guests. The bartenders were a lot of fun and the view was beautiful.

There is renovation going on but it was never an issue .The location was perfect - right in the downtown area.

I would definitely stay there again next time I go to Traverse City. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This hotel could use some updating, but it is centrally located and has great views over the bay from the top floor bar. Traverse City is a fun town to visit in a beautiful setting and with some updating, this hotel could have a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views. Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MK_dogdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Helllo MK_dogdad, Yes you are correct, we need some updating...and we are well on our way. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Walking distance to downtown for restaurants, shops, movies. Disappointed the pool was being remodeled, so couldn't use it. I came in Sunday night so their restaurant Minervas wasn't open, neither was their gift shop. I ate there a couple days later and enjoyed it. Easy walk to Omelet Shop for breakfast or you can eat in their restaurant. Happy hour is busy and good drinks.

Room Tip: Fourth floor had beautiful sunset views on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Becky6067, Our new pool/fitness area will open in June 2018! :) We will also have our new conference center and more renovated rooms. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
210 reviews
0.7 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
421 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
781 reviews
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2517
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: R1 465 - R3 168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing