We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Place Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Traverse Motel(Traverse City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Motel(Traverse City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
102
196
139
88
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
196
139
88
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon loungetop floorgreat locationpiano baran older hotelcorner roomfront streetdowntown tcbit dateddowntown areabed was comfortablebay viewconferencemi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Enjoyed a 7th floor room in the tower, nicer room than ones not in the tower. Great views of the bay. Construction next door never was a noise problem. Toilet leaked a little water. Room was spacious as was the handicapped accessible bathroom. Enjoyed good service at the ground floor bar Minerva's. Front desk service nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rozjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you, Rozjaf. We appreciate your business very much. We plan to be better in areas you identified as being subpar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband and I just returned from a short stay at the Park Hotel in Traverse City. I was a bit nervous about what the hotel would be like due to many negative reviews.
I'm so glad we stayed there. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a little issue with the ac when we first arrived but someone was up right away to help us. My room was fabulous. I did request one of the newly renovated rooms on the 9th floor. It was very nice and clean and we had a beautiful view of the bay.

We ate at Minerva's for breakfast every morning and the selection was good. We would go to happy hour at the rooftop bar and had a lot of fun meeting and talking with other guests. The bartenders were a lot of fun and the view was beautiful.

There is renovation going on but it was never an issue .The location was perfect - right in the downtown area.

I would definitely stay there again next time I go to Traverse City. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This hotel could use some updating, but it is centrally located and has great views over the bay from the top floor bar. Traverse City is a fun town to visit in a beautiful setting and with some updating, this hotel could have a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views. Ask for a room facing the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MK_dogdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Helllo MK_dogdad, Yes you are correct, we need some updating...and we are well on our way. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Walking distance to downtown for restaurants, shops, movies. Disappointed the pool was being remodeled, so couldn't use it. I came in Sunday night so their restaurant Minervas wasn't open, neither was their gift shop. I ate there a couple days later and enjoyed it. Easy walk to Omelet Shop for breakfast or you can eat in their restaurant. Happy hour is busy and good drinks.

Room Tip: Fourth floor had beautiful sunset views on the west side.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Becky6067, Our new pool/fitness area will open in June 2018! :) We will also have our new conference center and more renovated rooms. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I don't know where to begin except to say I gave it two stars because i reserve one star for the worst of the worst. The Park Place is not quite there yet, but is trying. Reserved online in early summer to attend a fall wedding. There was no mention of the pool/fitness center being closed during our stay. Would have been nice to know. Two of the three rooms in our group were ready by the 4:00pm check-in, but one was not until about 4:30. The following day we had to run down a housekeeper in order to get our room refreshed. They said it wasn't done because we had a Do Not Disturb sign on our door. I admit we did, but it was removed by noon. So I guess you only have one shot at getting your room cleaned and if you miss it your room doesn't get cleaned. When they did clean it they did not fully restock supplies (toilet paper, toiletries) and the beds looked thrown together (see photo). The following day the beds were made the same way and they did not restock in-room coffee supplies and didn't leave us enough towels. We never did get our bathmat replaced.

Now about cleanliness. The ceiling above the AC vent was black, mold in the corners of the bathtub, dirty windows (see photo, you could write on them), dusty furniture (again see photo and you could write in the dust), dust around baseboards.

The layout of our room was also terrible. Could not get the luggage cart into the room. Three out of the four of us ran into the dresser/entertainment center when using the rest room at night. The room was an L shape so the people sitting on the loveseat could not see the television. Also the loveseat is supposed to pull out into a bed, but this could not be done without moving the desk.

One of the guest in our party was treated rudely by the front desk. They could not arrive until the day of the wedding and called on the way up to ask for an early check-in and were told, "If you wanted an early check-in you should have come last night." Duh, would have if they could of. Also one guest did not receive a gift bag that was left by the wedding party. We, as a group, were asked to rectify the situation by determining if someone received an extra one, which no one had, and this was a full day after we had gotten them.

Ice machine on our floor didn't work, but was repaired on our last day. Bathroom ceiling fan did not work. Also the water in the hotel was shut off for 4 hours on Sunday and we were only notified the day before via a posting at the front desk and on the elevators. Would have been nice to have a note delivered to my room.

At check out we spoke to an Assistant Manager. he was very attentive and took copious notes. Of course he made some excuses and apologized. he also thanked us for our input and told us that it helps to correct poor service. He also credited us about 20% off our bill.

Overall we felt that for the price paid the attention to detail and hospitality was lacking, a reflection of overall poor management. I would hope our input would help them improve, but I will never know because I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We do appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and review. It does help the hotel to better improve its service. The hotel does apologize for the issues during your stay and as was noted, the guest folio was adjusted. The hotel, however, as has been stated in other responses, disputes that the guest was not informed about the pool closure. It is stated in our website and in the confirmation letters that the new conference center and pool will not be open until June of 2018. We hope that you will return in the future to see our new facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews