We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week in France in a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful swimming pool
Lounge area with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Beautiful swimming pool
Lounge area with log burner
Decked sunbathing area by the pool
Dining area
The Blue lakes at Touverac
Les Antilles at Jonzac. Brilliant Swimming pool and Spa
Chateaux at Jonzac
Hennessy river boat at Cognac
Beautiful buildings in the local area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Touverac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Barryther...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic week in France in a lovely location/setting”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The gites were recommended by some good friends who stayed the previous year. We were a large group of 4 families who stayed in 3 of the gites for the week. We were impressed by the location of the gites in a lovely rural setting with so much space for the children to safely play and roam, without worry as to their safety (with some of the owner's pets/animals for additional company and entertainment). The gites surround a lovely pool where the children enjoyed spending most of their time in the lovely summer sunshine, while the adults were able to relax.
The gites were finished to a very high standard, well equipped and spotlessly clean throughout, and were impressively spacious and comfortable to stay in. The English owners, Steve and Wendy, were always available and very helpful, friendly and accommodating, and I particularly enjoyed the hot chilli peppers from Wendy's vegetable garden!
The location of the gites makes many local towns and villages easily accessible. We enjoyed numerous trips out, with Royan being only an hour away by car, and Cognac less then 40 minutes.
We enjoyed this holiday so much we are already talking about our next trip to France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the accommodation
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite location but so close to the village and amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2012
Thanks for your review and we can't wait to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoDublin2...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would highly recommend, suitable for all!”
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Wendy and Steve at the Stables for 9 days in early June. We got lost on the way there but Steve kindly met us and showed us the way, it was nearly midnight! When we got there we had the option of wine or a cup of tea too! The accommodation was superb, comfy, spotlessly clean and a 3 min walk to bars and restaurants. It was also an excellent base for exploring the region which had too much to offer to get around everything in one holiday! We'll just have to go back!

During our stay, Steve and Wendy provided lots of useful advice and even invited us to Wendy's birthday BBQ, where we got to meet all their friends and had a fantastic night! Their friends were terrific and we even bumped into some of them afterwards which made for a great social holiday!

One tip, visit Aubeterre! The church is amazing and the village so pretty, it's well worth a visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2011
Thanks for that. Can't wait to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 9 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2011
Thankyou for that. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MelanieLo...
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gtes de Garbellant”
Reviewed 6 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed for one week at The Stables of the Garbellant residence and wished we had stayed longer!!!!!! On arrival we were greeted by Wendy and Steve, one of the nicest couples we have ever met. They could not do enough for all their guests and were available any time of day for queries and information. The gite was spotless, the phtos do not do the property justice, even nicer in real life with breathtaking views across the fields. The property had english TV a wonderful big deep bath (for two) and walk-in shower. The beds were bliss, and the kitchen complete with all necessary items inclduing a washin machine that you did not have to pay extra to use!!!!!
The property has a lovely outside pool and aswell as your own private terrace there is a terrace by the pool so can have a drink or 5 with the other guests should you wish.
The centre of the little town was a 5 minute walk which had a couple of restaurants and bars, all good value and very friendly. There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away with a wonderful deli counter (and an overly french gentleman serving, complete with handlebar moustache!!!).
There are many lakes a short drive away, most with beaches for children. There is also a spectacularly blue and clear filled quarry lake a bike ride away which we had to ourselves, very refreshing on the hot days but probably not suitable for children under 5.
We had a wonderful time, we are 35years old without kids but would suit older couples and families equally.
Wendy, Steve and there lovely son Ben will be friends of our for life now and we cannot wait to return to The Stables and Baignes ....... maybe even to live!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2011
Thanks. See you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing