We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Black Swan Inn(Horsham St Faith)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stower Grange(Drayton)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$156
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aylwyne House(Norwich)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 147)
Filter reviews
1 149 results
Traveller rating
447
376
180
80
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
447
376
180
80
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselm farmbridal suitegroupon dealwedding venueduck pondpark and rideevening mealshort breakbuffet stylefood was lovelynorwich airportfamily roomnight breakvisiting norwichnorfolk broadslovely roomcouldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 149 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On first appearance the place looked lovely. It was quite acceptable for a short break but you could see everywhere needed freshening up. The shower in our chalet was awaiting repair and we were not advised of this when we booked in.

The food however is excellent and very good value for money.

Worth a short break especially if you go on a deal!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately we have had to organise two wakes these past few months and I was overruled about booking somewhere outside of the village. The argument was that as these premises are indeed near the crematorium - people may be more likely to stay for the wake if it is held nearby. I don't believe that thinking worked as there were of course people who attended the service but then didn't come along to the wake - considering it was so near to the crematorium that in itself was disappointing but that has nothing to do with this review! The first wake arranged was for sandwiches, sausage rolls, scones and cake. Of course the usual tea and coffee. This was pretty good - I was able to alter the number of cakes and increase the sandwiches, choose the fillings etc. and that consideration was much appreciated. The head counting with a 'clicker' is a little disconcerting as he walked amongst the mourners but then, you will of course pay for anyone who attends (regardless of how long they stay or if they eat or drink) over the number you originally asked them to cater for. That wake wasn't too bad and yes, the food was nice. The chocolate fudge cake very popular - but then we had the unfortunate task in having to organise another wake and again it was decided to hold it at Elm Farm but this time to have the breakfast option. Not a great idea and definitely would not ever choose this option again - but when the funeral service is early in the morning what else can you offer - sandwiches, scones and cake? There was just one very sad slice of bacon in each roll. It was lost. The bacon was hard, as if cooked or warmed in the microwave. So unappetising many went without. There were however unexpected Danish pastries which guests ate in lieu of there not being anything else edible. The croissants were cold and I had to wait around near the server for ages (twice) until I could attract someone's attention and ask for a croissant to be microwaved. Now there's being discreet when serving at a wake and there's being invisible. It was very frustrating. If the breakfast had been served from the hot counter, as I expected it would be, this would have made it all much more appetising. But the food was brought out covered in foil and left on the hot food serving station - which of course wasn't hot. On this occasion I think the head count was done as we all walked from the cars as there was no 'clicker' in sight! No member of staff at any time at either wake came to find me to ask if everything was ok - only when it came to pay was I asked and yes I did express my disappointment on this second occasion. In my opinion a little more genuine care and concern needs to be shown by everyone providing the service. Should the occasion arise where I have to organise another, I will insist on holding the wake somewhere that meant something to the deceased and expect that mourners would, out of respect, want to share time with the family afterwards - wherever that might be. Not just the local pub. So overall, disappointed and it's definitely not for us in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TicketPassportMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Restaurant was njot available in the evening due to a wedding function. It would have helped if we had been told this when booking as one of the reasons for choosing Elm House was that it had a restaurant. Room was tired and could do with a lick of paint. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThorpeBayBluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of an offer as it was convenient for us to visit relatives and friends in the area. The location is fine but relatively close to the crematorium so there was a wake on the days we were there. This was a bit disconcerting as it was very noisy in the bar and consequently in the dining room as it is open to the bar. The car park was good apart from when there was a large wake going on and then it was a bit tricky.
The room was small and basic but functioned alright. The bed linen was all fresh and clean and so were the towels although only one hand towel was provided. The bathroom (or rather shower room) was in need of some TLC and refurbishment. There was always plenty of hot water. The shower cubicle was small and had an overhead rose which meant you had to wash your hair - no shower cap was provided and when we asked for one it did not appear.
The food was good and in particular the breakfast. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit and a hot buffet and the lady serving most days was excellent. Dinner was as expected with specials added on some nights - the down side was the noise from the bar which is open to the dining room. There was no residents lounge to get away to for a coffee.
WIFI was not particularly good and television reception in the room was spasmodic.
Would we stay here again.......mmm... not sure. If it was updated then we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annex by the road as this needs updating in my view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marksnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food is very good,ample portion sizes.the garden is kept nice and tidy.there is a pond round the back.it is nice and relaxing sitting by the pond.

Room Tip: The room was clean,the bed was comfortable.the bathroom is very clean,the towels are replaced every day.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angel542018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elm Farm N, General Manager at Elm Farm Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review and we hope you had a lovely stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews