We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$146
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adoba Hotel Naubinway(Naubinway)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
55
13
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
13
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspictured rocksawesome ownersplayground equipmentnice placedump stationsoo lockstahquamenon fallsupper peninsulacamping experiencefor saleshipwreck museumtheir websitewithin an hourgrocery storelake superiorwhitefish pointoswald's bear ranch
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

They charge your card for the full amount of your stay on the day you make your reservation. Be very aware - they give no refunds. We had 5 days reserved to tour the MI Upper Peninsula -$180. 42 Ft fully loaded motorhome and the first thing we heard was you aren't allowed to put out a mat bigger than a door size welcome mat, then we were told to support our jacks because we were in a site that had just been sodded. Then the kicker - our site had electric and water --- NO SEWER! We said we would have never reserved a site with NO SEWER! The woman said we must have made our reservations on line and made a mistake - no refunds. This park advertises FULL HOOKUPS!! They do have a few - filled with locals - be very careful here. Maybe good for one night. They did have all our money, so there was no help from the owners at all. We pulled out the next day. Be VERY CAREFUL with this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarbinTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Let's stick with the facts! You were greeted cordially just like every guest. 1. You reserved online and picked the site you wanted. It clearly states online the type of site you are reserving and you chose a 50 amp Water and Electric site. Your mistake! 2. It also makes it clear that when reserving online payment in full is required at the time of booking. 3. You also have to acknowledge you read the size of the rug and mat guideline. We want to protect the grass for our next guest too. 4. Our cancellation policy is very clear and you can't change your mind on the day you arrive because you made a mistake. 5. Our guidelines clearly states why that using support boards of some sort under your jacks is necessary. You signed the acknowledgment paper that you would read the guidelines and will adhere to them. We have 13 Full Hookups that are reserved by guest from all over the country and not locals. Lastly you said we would see your husband with a black eye using the restrooms cause he made the mistake. In summary all the details of your reservation were on your confirmation. Our reviews speak for themselves and your mistake does not constitute the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The owners could not be nicer. They can be seen around always helping people. The campground was quite when it should be. Lots of playground equipment and games for all ages. Beautiful volleyball court. Met some of the nicest people.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Mrs P thank you so much for the kind review! We do try our best to help anyone who needs something during their stay. And yes it is quiet here at night, and we appreciate that too! We are so happy you had a great stay and that you met some good people while you were here. We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We love this place! It is the third year in a row that we have visited Kritter's Northcountry Campground and our second visit this month. Larry and Kathy could not be better hosts, friendly and helpful. The campground has spacious sites and is very well maintained. The location is central to many attractions in the Eastern UP.
We will definitely visit again. Thank you both for providing a great place to visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much Lynda!! We love seeing you both, it's been a pleasure having you come here each year that we have owned the park!! We are always sad to see you leave. We try very hard to make sure everyone has a great stay and we love it that you love it here!! We can't wait to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean, & quiet campground w/very friendly helpful hosts. It's a terrific central spot to camp while visiting the various spots in the U.P. I highly recommend this campground and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank cindersu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for posting this very nice review!! It means alot to us when people take the time to do so. We always do our best to make sure everyone is happy and taken care of. Thanks for recommending us to others, that is the best gift of all. We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This is just off Hwy 28 that goes across the UP just north of the town of Newberry. Good location for access to the falls and Shipwreck Museum. The sites are grassy and large. Good for big rigs....however, they don't want you to put out mats that may damage "their" grass. Appears run by a young couple. Not sure what experience they have in RVing. They do charge for extra services (Wifi) and you have to request cable when making reservations or you get what they give you. Didn't really feel they were very accommodating and left disappointed that I had chosen this CG to spend the night. Okay for one night I guess.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

We do appreciate you staying with us! We are seasoned campers and understand different campgrounds have different guidelines based on their core values. We have invested a lot of money into the grass and if you did the same for your personal lawn you would not want people putting large rugs down on "your" lawn for periods of time. We take pride in the fact that the sites are grassy and mats are not needed compared to some places that are dirt or gravel, etc. We do limit the size so the grass does not die and keeps a good appearance for our next guest. When a reservation is made or someone drops in we always advise the guest what sites are available and individual sites amenities. During peak season when guests drop in cable sites are not always available. We also pay for every Gig of data used which is extremely costly therefore we try to recoup a portion of the cost. In today's society everyone has cell phones and have unlimited data on their devices they can use if they choose. Unfortunately you were here only one night and we had to squeeze you in where we could since we were booked. As you can see from our other reviews we go out of our way to meet our guests needs when possible and we are happy to do so!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews