We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our experience was nothing like the 42 footer. We made our reservations by calling and talking with Kathy. We were excited to meet her because of her happy and friendly conversation. Our site was reserved just as Kathy had promised. Friendly, clean and very helpful campsite owners. Larry and Kathy work very hard to make sure their customers have what they need.
Thank You Both for a wonderful week.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank jamavesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you jamavesea for taking the time to post a review and such a kind one. We appreciate it more than you know!! I had such a ball taking the reservation for you all and couldn't wait to meet your group!! I had forgotten when you were coming so I was thrilled when you arrived! Thank you for letting us spend some time getting to know you a bit. We do work very hard to make sure our guests have all that they need, thank you for noticing!! We hope you all will make it back one day, safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

They charge your card for the full amount of your stay on the day you make your reservation. Be very aware - they give no refunds. We had 5 days reserved to tour the MI Upper Peninsula -$180. 42 Ft fully loaded motorhome and the first thing we heard was you aren't allowed to put out a mat bigger than a door size welcome mat, then we were told to support our jacks because we were in a site that had just been sodded. Then the kicker - our site had electric and water --- NO SEWER! We said we would have never reserved a site with NO SEWER! The woman said we must have made our reservations on line and made a mistake - no refunds. This park advertises FULL HOOKUPS!! They do have a few - filled with locals - be very careful here. Maybe good for one night. They did have all our money, so there was no help from the owners at all. We pulled out the next day. Be VERY CAREFUL with this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarbinTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Let's stick with the facts! You were greeted cordially just like every guest. 1. You reserved online and picked the site you wanted. It clearly states online the type of site you are reserving and you chose a 50 amp Water and Electric site. Your mistake! 2. It also makes it clear that when reserving online payment in full is required at the time of booking. 3. You also have to acknowledge you read the size of the rug and mat guideline. We want to protect the grass for our next guest too. 4. Our cancellation policy is very clear and you can't change your mind on the day you arrive because you made a mistake. 5. Our guidelines clearly states why that using support boards of some sort under your jacks is necessary. You signed the acknowledgment paper that you would read the guidelines and will adhere to them. We have 13 Full Hookups that are reserved by guest from all over the country and not locals. Lastly you said we would see your husband with a black eye using the restrooms cause he made the mistake. In summary all the details of your reservation were on your confirmation. Our reviews speak for themselves and your mistake does not constitute the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The owners could not be nicer. They can be seen around always helping people. The campground was quite when it should be. Lots of playground equipment and games for all ages. Beautiful volleyball court. Met some of the nicest people.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Mrs P thank you so much for the kind review! We do try our best to help anyone who needs something during their stay. And yes it is quiet here at night, and we appreciate that too! We are so happy you had a great stay and that you met some good people while you were here. We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We love this place! It is the third year in a row that we have visited Kritter's Northcountry Campground and our second visit this month. Larry and Kathy could not be better hosts, friendly and helpful. The campground has spacious sites and is very well maintained. The location is central to many attractions in the Eastern UP.
We will definitely visit again. Thank you both for providing a great place to visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much Lynda!! We love seeing you both, it's been a pleasure having you come here each year that we have owned the park!! We are always sad to see you leave. We try very hard to make sure everyone has a great stay and we love it that you love it here!! We can't wait to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean, & quiet campground w/very friendly helpful hosts. It's a terrific central spot to camp while visiting the various spots in the U.P. I highly recommend this campground and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank cindersu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for posting this very nice review!! It means alot to us when people take the time to do so. We always do our best to make sure everyone is happy and taken care of. Thanks for recommending us to others, that is the best gift of all. We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newberry hotels
13,3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
187 reviews
9,3 km away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
69 reviews
13,4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Address: 13209 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newberry
Price Range: R1 026 - R1 505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located to the Eastern Upper Peninsula attractions! Not only do we provide lodging but we also have a very nice, modern campground to service everything from tent campers to big rigs! For our camping guests, we are a Good Sam park which entitles Good Sam members to a 10% discount! Lodging guests will realize a savings by staying longer than 4 nights. Camping season runs from Mother's Day weekend to October 10th. The Little Lodge is open thru snowmobile season. We hope we can be a part of your Upper Peninsula experience! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing