We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
18
20
7
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
20
7
10
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Review of the Clos de Mariotte
Great

I was a little concerned about staying here after some old negative reviews on trip advisor. However I need not have worried!

We had a short wait on arrival whilst Madame Florence shut up her dogs. We later met the dogs and they were very friendly.
We stayed in room Java which had a private garden carved out of the rock - leading off the bedroom . Sadly it rained most of the evening so we did not get a chance to sit outside. The shower room was very pretty and also carved out of the rock. Shower gel was a bit lacking but bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast consisted of fresh croissants cooked in the oven, yoghurt and jams and coffee. Florence chatted to us and, when realising that my husband spoke adequate French, sat down with us and we had a very nice hour of conversation. She was very happy to make fresh coffee for us and insisted we ate all the croissants :-)

Speaking some French here does help and I was quite happy for Madame to correct my Appalling grammar. . One of the dogs joined us and lay at my husbands feet. I don't think either wanted to move. This was a very good end to our short French holiday and I would be very happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Context: For the last 20 years we have traveled by way of B&Bs in North America, Italy, Spain and France. Over all this time, we count only two serious disappointments.

Unfortunately, our eight nights at the Clos Mariotte (Vouvray), in the Marans room, added a third.

There was a surprise at the start of our relationship, when the hostess demanded we fax her a signed contract. This was the first time ever we had been asked that, but we complied. (The hostess graciously forwent asking for a deposit, recognizing that the overseas transaction cost is exorbitant.) But things became stranger when, in an email shortly before we left, she asked us to bring something from our home country, in return of which she would offer us a Vouvray wine. This was again the first time we were ever asked for this. We replied that we would not be in a position to bring the wine back with us but offered to bring a gift, worth about $10. We handed over our offering at the first breakfast.

On the morning of our arrival we had called from our previous lodging to say that we expected to arrive around noon. In rather sharp tones, we were told that we were not welcome until 6 p.m.

When shown the room, we were rather disappointed. The space turned out to be quite tight and we now realized that only a curtain separates the bathroom + toilet from the bedroom.

Then one disappointment followed another. At breakfast the same jar of jam would appear over and over. The choice of bread diminished by the day. The hostess does not appear to possess a teapot. Halfway through we were offered clean towels (but no clean washcloth) but we slept in the same sheets for eight warm nights. The bed was never made up. Once she offered to vacuum the room, which we declined, there being hardly any space worth vacuuming. With such failure of service, one would expect to be offered a discount for an 8-night stay.

The conversations at breakfast were painful. Her touristic advice was delivered in a tone resembling orders, not suggestions. While our French is fairly good, she spoke rapidly and did not enunciate well. When we asked to repeat something, she did by speaking very slowly, as if we were imbeciles.

After five days we finally asked about that Vouvray. She disappeared in her troglodyte cellar and returned with an unlabelled bottle of carbonated wine, never having asked whether we preferred still or bubbly.

One morning we observed a conversation between the hostess and her adult son as he was leaving the house. She spoke in the same brusque tone as in our conversations with us.

The conclusion is clear: For the sake of the reputation of French hospitality, Florence Hardouin should quit the business and look for work that does not involve interaction with any public.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Calm and tranquillity greets you when you open the green gates to this B&B. The host, Florence, is the most warm-hearted person you can imagine and will help you in every way. We slept 2 nights in the room Java, a spectacular semi-cave living finished to a very high standard. One of the nights we had dinner with Florence and her son. This evening was loaded with laughs, great regional food and more than enough wine. We thank you Florence for a really fantastic stay at Clos Mariotte. Our best tip is, if you are visiting Loir valley, don’t miss this B&B. It will be your best stay of your vacation.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband & I spent 6 nights of our honeymoon here, and traveled to nearby towns during the day to visit various chateaux & vineyards. Vouvray was the perfect area to stay in, as it is quiet and rustic, but only a 10 minute drive to the bustling city of Tours. There are many tourist sites within 20-50 minutes by car.
The hostess was very kind to us. She was accommodating & offered us some fantastic suggestions of nearby sites & restaurants to visit. She also has a charming personality, so it was lovely to get to hear her stories over coffee & baguettes in the morning.
Overall, this was exactly what we were looking for- a homey place to sleep at a great price. If you're looking for something in a large city or are looking for a sterile hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for character & the small town experience, it's perfect!

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews