We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great outdoor get away!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rclancey
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great outdoor get away!”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rental property met all of our needs. Only for those looking for outdoor adventure! Owner very friendly. Not for small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the lake
Liked least: There is nothing we can report as least
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
We were glad we could accommodate you. Looking forward to seeing you next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dboom122
2 reviews
“Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I have stayed here the past 2 years and love it. It's only about 25 miles from anything we want to do and 20mi. to town. The cabin is a modular(more like a house) on the lake that is very clean and comfy. Todd (the owner) met us at the midway store and took us out the 1st time although it's not hard to find once you've been there. It isn't the newest place around but Very clean and quiet. The lake has some good bluegill fishing on the north end. Had an issue lighting the stove and Todd ran right out and fixed it. My stupidity, forgot to flip a switch. Nothing beats quiet cool mornings on the deck with a cup of coffee. The peacefulness here and the price are worth the extra few miles. Cheaper and quieter than a campground or hotel. Thanks for the great Vacation Todd! We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Hill to lake.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the tranquility the place offered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piperz2
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outdated trailer on lovely lake”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ostrander retreat is in the deep woods,on a lovely quiet lake, where I enjoyed nightly canoe trips with my husband and brother. We are all campers, so never expect plush accommodations, but do expect a place that looks a bit up to date, rather than a 70's mobile home filled with dusty brick brack, dirty carpets and a couch and chair with quite an odor. The outside could be lovely, but looked like a mishmash of unfinished projects everywhere one looked Perhaps, for a group of guys looking for a quiet lake to fish or hunt, this would work out well, but if you don't like the smell of mildew, don't come here! Also, bring your own towels because those supplied smell horrible! The owner does not a map with directions, so you either need to pick up a sim card at his house (we had nothing that accommodates a sim) or meet him at a local store, so that he can drive you there. It is about 30-40 minutes from Musining. We spent all day hiking near Pictured Rocks, so only used the "cabin" for a late dinner, sleep and breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lake and View
Liked least: mildew odor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
We are sorry you weren't comfortable. We would have addressed any issues you had. We are about 20 minutes from Munising. While our place isn't new it offers privacy and is less expensive then many places in town. You are not next to 30 tents or paying $40 a night to camp bringing your own stuff. Thank you for your input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing